Finding an ALEA driver testing center
Alabama offers relatively few driver’s license services online. You will need to go to an Alabama Law Enforcement Agency driver testing office or a License Commissioner office for the majority of services. Check out this page to find the location nearest you.
Getting a license for the first time
After applicants have successfully completed six months or more on a Stage II license and have reached the age of 17, they are eligible for a full license. They must also pass a road skills test before receiving their full license. The fee for a full license is $31.25 for those with a Stage II license and $36.25 for those who are 18 or older and did not get a Stage II license.
Renewing your license
As with many states, Alabama allows licensed drivers to renew their licenses online. The state will mail your license to the address on file within 30 days of receiving your completed renewal application and fee. If you want to update your address, however, you must go to an office in person.
Do you need a Real ID?
Drivers do not have to get a Real ID, which is known as a Star ID in Alabama. However, doing so may save you a hassle at the airport in the future. In May 2023, domestic flights will require either a Star ID or a valid passport from all travelers. Star IDs can only be obtained from ALEA facilities in Alabama. County offices will not be able to get you a Star ID.
Upgrading your learner’s license
Applicants can get their Stage I learner’s license in Alabama at the age of 15. They have to pass a written test and submit documentation to get their Stage I license. Acceptable documentation includes:
- S. birth certificate
- Social Security card
- Proof of school enrollment or graduation
- 2 proofs of residence
Applicants must also submit the following fees:
- $5 testing fee
- $36.25 to purchase a license
They must complete a minimum of 50 hours of driving with a licensed driver who is 21 or older to get their Stage II license at the age of 16. The Stage II license allows the applicant to drive without supervision as long as they have their legal guardian’s permission, do not drive from midnight to 6 AM, and do not have more than one passenger (non-family member) in the car. The fee for the Stage II license is $36.25.
Replacing a lost or stolen license
Getting a duplicate license is easy in Alabama. You can do it online on the same site that offers renewals. As with a driver’s license renewal, it will take approximately 30 days for you to receive your new license. You will be able to print a temporary license so that you can drive in the meantime.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?