• Find DMV Offices
  • Find Service Providers

Arizona Vehicle Registration

Home 9 US State 9 Arizona DMV Services 9 Arizona Vehicle Registration
( people found this content useful.)

AZ Vehicle Registration Summary

On our Arizona Vehicle Registration page, you’ll find information about how to register a vehicle with the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division (MVD), car registration for new Arizona residents, AZ registration renewal, duplicate registration, replacements & changes auto insurance requirements, and AZ military member registration.

Registering a Vehicle in Arizona

You must register your vehicle through the Arizona Motor Vehicle Division (MVD). Below is a quick summary of items to bring when visiting your local Arizona MVD office.

What to bring to the AZ MVD:

  • Proof of identity (e.g., driver’s license, ID, or passport).
  • Proof of Arizona car insurance.
  • A completed Title and Registration Application (Form 96-0236).
  • Required emissions compliance forms, if applicable.
  • Proof of vehicle ownership (vehicle title).
  • Acceptable form of payment for AZ car registration fees and taxes.

Continue reading for more specific details about how to register a vehicle in Arizona.

Registering Vehicles Purchased from an AZ Dealer

When you purchase either a new or used vehicle from a licensed Arizona car dealer, they will submit the necessary documents to the AZ MVD on your behalf. Confirm with your dealer about whether they offer a registration and titling service before finalizing your purchase. The dealer will issue you a Temporary Registration Plate (TRP). You may operate the new vehicle using the TRP until your new registration arrives in the mail.In most cases, you’ll receive it within 4 weeks to 6 weeks.

Vehicles Purchased from a Private Party

In Arizona, you must register and transfer the title of your vehicle within 15 days from the date of purchase. Otherwise, the Arizona MVD may assess a penalty.

NOTE: Arizona vehicle registration expires upon the sale or transfer of a vehicle.. In other words, any used vehicle you purchase will have expired registration. To operate the vehicle you must purchase a Restricted Use 3-Day Permit, available at EZ Permit, or at any AZ MVD office.

To register your vehicle, visit your local AZ MVD office and present:

AZ Vehicle Registration for New Residents

New to Arizona?

The Arizona MVD requires you to apply for an Arizona title and vehicle registration immediately upon establishing residency.

As a new resident, you must take certain steps before you can register your vehicle. The Arizona MVD requires you to:

Once you complete these steps, you may then register your vehicle.

Visit your local Arizona MVD office and present your:

  • Current out-of-state certificate of title.
    • If you do not have the vehicle title or current registration, you must provide proof of a Level 1 inspection, which verifies your vehicle identification number (VIN).
  • Current registration card, only if there is a lien on your vehicle.
  • Signed and completed Title and Registration Application (Form 96-0236).
  • Driver license or ID.
  • Out-of-state license plates.
  • Proof of vehicle insurance.
  • Payment for AZ car registration, fees, and taxes.

AZ Registration for Military Drivers

Arizona military residents who currently reside in the state can register their vehicles as normal. See Registering a Vehicle in Arizona to learn more.

Registration for AZ Residents Stationed Outside Arizona

To register your vehicle by mail as an Arizona resident stationed outside of the state, gather all of the following:

Mail payment and all required documents to:

Motor Vehicle Division P.O. Box 29035
Phoenix, AZ 85038

Registration for Non-Residents

The AZ MVD does not require non-resident military service members stationed in Arizona to register their vehicles in state.Arizona military personnel must maintain current registration and car insurance. from their home state during deployment. If a military service member becomes a resident of Arizona, they’ll need to apply for AZ car registration. Read Vehicle Registration for New Residents to learn more. Military members who opt to register their vehicles in Arizona are exempt from paying the vehicle license tax portion of the vehicle registration. To receive this exemption, they must provide a completed Special Military Exemption (Form 96-0240), signed by a commanding officer.

Renewing Your Registration in Arizona

In Arizona, you can renew your vehicle registration online, in person, by phone or by mail. Arizona allows most vehicle registrations for 1 year, 2 year or 5 years at a time.

  • The Arizona MVD typically mails your renewal notice several weeks prior to the expiration. You can renew a plate up to 6 months prior to expiration if Arizona does NOT require an emissions test.
  • You can renew a plate up to 90 days prior to expiration if Arizona requires an emissions test.
  • The registration for some vehicles expire on the last day of the month, others expire on the 15th of the month.

    Please check your renewal notice or current registration to see which due date applies to your vehicle.

    See Arizona Renewals to learn more.

Replace Lost or Damaged Registration

If your AZ registration cards or tabs are lost, stolen, or damaged, you can apply for a replacement online, or in person at your local Arizona MVD office.

Online Replacements

To replace your AZ registration card online, the Arizona MVD must have your current information. Visit the Arizona MVD’s online services portal and provide the following:
  • Your license plate number
  • Your driver’s license number
  • Your vehicle identification number (VIN).
  • A credit card for the $4 duplicate registration card fee.
You can print a copy of your duplicate AZ registration upon completing the transaction.

Replace Registration In Person

To replace your AZ registration card or decals in person, you’ll need to visit your local Arizona MVD office and present a valid photo ID. Be sure to have all of the same items listed above in Online Replacements.

Change Your Car Registration in AZ

Name Changes

Before you can make changes to your Arizona registration documents, you must first change your name with the Social Security Administration (SSA). Once you complete your name change with SSA, you can make changes to your name with the Arizona MVD. You must report a change of name to the MVD within 10 days. To change a name on your vehicle registration in person at the AZ MVD, be ready to provide:
  • Legal documents supporting your name change such as a:
    • Marriage license if the name changed due to marriage.
    • Divorce decree.
    • A court-ordered name change document.
  • Certificate of citizenship/naturalization.
  • Payment for the $4 duplicate registration fee.
NOTE: If you provide certified copies, they must be certified by the issuing agency.

Address Changes

You may update your address with the AZ MVD online, by phone, or in person. Be sure to change your address within 10 days of moving.

Online Address Change in Arizona

To change your address online, please visit the AZ MVD’s website online services portal. Please be ready to follow the prompts and provide the following:
  • Your Arizona license or ID number.
  • Your full name and date of birth.
  • Payment for duplicate license and/or registration fees. Arizona does not charge for address changes. However, replacement licenses cost $12 and the duplicate registration fee is $4.
Once complete, the Arizona MVD online system will update your new address on both your vehicle registration and AZ driver’s license.

Address Changes By Phone

To change your address by phone with the AZ MVD, please call: 602-255-0072.

Address Changes in Person

To change your address in person, please visit any AZ MVD office and provide:
  • Your Arizona license or ID number.
  • Your full name and date of birth.
  • Payment for duplicate license and/or registration fees.

Arizona Vehicle Registration Fees

In Arizona, you must pay registration and title fees as well as a vehicle license tax (VLT).

Arizona bases the VLT on an assessed value of 60% of the manufacturer’s base retail price reduced by 16.25% for each year since the vehicle was first registered in Arizona.

As of the Dec 1, 2000 reduction, the rate is calculated as follows:

  • $2.80 (new vehicles) for each $100 of the assessed value.
  • $2.89 (used vehicles) for each $100 of the assessed value.

The fees can range between $10 and up to $500 or more, based on your unique situation.

Below are some of the current Arizona registration and registration related fees:

  • Passenger vehicle registration: $8
  • Public safety fee: $32
  • Air quality fee: $1.50
  • Duplicate driver license/ID fee – $12
  • Restricted Use 3-Day Permit fee – $1
  • Tab Replacement fee – $5
  • Plate transfer fee: $12
  • Replacement Arizona title fee: $4
  • Replacement registration card fee: $4
  • Late registration penalty fee: $8
  • Vehicle sales use/tax: 5.6%

For a more complete listing of Arizona’s vehicle registration fees, visit the Arizona MVD website.

How useful was this content?

Click on a star to rate it!

Since you found this page useful...

Share it on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Last Verified:
Aug 9, 2022