Find a Licensing Center
If you want to get your license for the first time or need to renew one, then it’s time to reach out to the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration. Here is more information on the steps to take to renew, replace, or obtain your license.
Getting a License for the First Time
To get your license for the first time, you will need to be 14 years old. At 14, minors are able to obtain a learner’s permit. At 16, this can be upgraded to a provisional license. Then, at 18, an unrestricted license is available.
In some cases, 16-year-old drivers may have an unrestricted license, such as if they are married, the head of the household, or have a high school diploma. Active military members also have access to the unrestricted license two years sooner than others.
Driver’s education is not required in Arkansas, but it is helpful if you’d like to become a better driver.
How to Get a Learner’s Permit
To get a learner’s permit, you need to be at least 14. There is a test that has to be taken at the ASP testing site. Additionally, you will need to provide:
- Proof of identity
- A completed application for your license or learner’s permit
- Proof of enrollment in school (or graduation)
You will need to take a vision test.
After six months, you will be able to upgrade the license to your provisional license. During that time, you may not have any traffic accidents or violations.
Renewing Your License
The Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration is in charge of handling license renewal in Arkansas. You will need to renew your license every eight years if you have a Class D or Class M AR driver’s license. You’ll receive a notice to renew by mail. In that notice, the DFA will let you know if you have any tickets or fines to pay and if you need to have a renewed vision test.
Even if you don’t get a renewal notice, you need to renew before your license expires.
To renew your license:
- Go to the local AR DFA near you, since it does not allow mail or online renewals
- Bring $40 for the renewal fee, which is payable in cash or by check and money order
- Your corrective lenses for your vision test, if you need to take one
Two documents proving your residency in Arkansas if you’d like to get an enhanced license or ID
Do You Need a REAL ID?
You do not have to get a REAL ID unless you’d like to. However, a REAL ID will be required in the future to enter certain federal spaces or to fly, unless you have a passport or special ID. As of May 3, 2023, anyone who wants to get on a flight or enter a federal building will need one of these IDs or to fulfill other requirements.
You can get the REAL ID at any revenue office in Arkansas.
Replace a Lost or Stolen License
To replace a lost or stolen license, you can fill out a form on the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration’s page. Follow this link to verify your identity and order a new license.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?