Basic Auto Insurance
Every auto owner in Arkansas is required to have liability coverage on their vehicle. This coverage will cover them in an at-fault collision.
There are some minimum liability requirements in the state. These include:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident
- $25,000 per crash for property damage
In most cases, it’s a better idea to carry more than the minimum coverage levels.
Drivers should receive the opportunity to purchase higher limits as well as uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. Personal injury protection should also be suggested, even if they do not purchase it.
Arkansas law also requires that a discount is given to anyone who is over 55 years of age and who has completed a vehicle accident prevention course that was approved by the Office of Motor Vehicles.
Required Insurance Documents
You always need to have proof of insurance when you’re driving your vehicle. However, the Department of Finance and Administration, or DFA, does use an electronic database to verify the status of your car insurance. It does this during monthly checks of all currently registered vehicles as well as when you register your vehicle.
If you don’t meet the state requirements during one of these checks, then you will have to show proof to the DFA through the DFA Insurance Verification Program. This program can be contacted at (501) 682-7932.
Your Insurance Card
If you are stopped by the police, they may ask you for your proof of insurance as a part of that traffic stop. You need to show your insurance card or a digital document showing you have insurance to the officer at the time of the stop. If you cannot but do have insurance, you’ll be cited $25. If you don’t have insurance, you could face harsher penalties such as the suspension of your vehicle registration or fines.
Insurance fraud is a crime that may come with harsh penalties. In fact, fraud is a Class D felony in cases of providing false information to apply for or to obtain insurance, to benefit from a policy or in other circumstances. This kind of fraud is punishable by:
- Up to six years in prison
- Fines of up to $10,000
Offenders will also be asked to pay restitution to any victims who were affected by their actions.
How to Report Fraud to the State
To report fraud in Arkansas, you should start by reaching out to the Office of the Attorney General, which is reachable by email at firstname.lastname@example.org or by phone at 501-682-2341. The state’s fraud hotline can be reached at 1-800-422-6641.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?