What Are the Basics?
Colorado law requires people who live and work in the state to establish a residence and obtain a state-issued driver’s license. You also may obtain a state-issued ID with your photo and residence listed. Anyone who moves to Colorado or moves within the state and does not update his or her address could be fined.
How Do I Change My Address if I Am Moving Within Colorado?
You can change your address when you move within Colorado in three ways. The fastest and easiest way is to do a change of address online. You just input your new address and print out a label that you can affix to the back of your driver’s license. The entire process takes about 5 minutes from the comfort of your home or other location.
You also can change your address by mail by completing a Change of Address Form DR 2285 and mailing it to the DMV at the address listed on the form. You also can go to a Colorado DMV service center to change your address.
How Long Do I have to Complete This?
Whenever moving within Colorado, the state gives you a 30-day grace period to file for a change of address. The state will process address changes after the initial 30-day period with no penalties applied.
How Do I Change My Address if I Am Moving to Colorado?
If you are moving to Colorado, you must go to a Colorado DMV service center to obtain a Colorado driver’s license. You will need to provide a copy of a lease or mortgage agreement or a utility bill in your name that shows the address where you live.
How Long Do I Have to Complete This?
You have 30 days to change your address when you move to Colorado. The state will process address changes requests after the 30-day requirement with no penalties applied.
How Do I Change My Address if I Am Moving from Colorado?
When you move from Colorado to another state, you must go to that state’s respective licensing office and obtain a state-issued driver’s license or ID card. You can surrender a Colorado-issued driver’s license when you obtain a new license in the state to which you move. If you have a Colorado-issued license plate, you also will need to surrender that or mail it to the Colorado DMV.
Where Do I Call With Questions?
The Colorado DMV is available Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. by calling 303-205-5600.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?