Traffic Violations Overview
Colorado traffic offenses fall under two categories of moving violations – Class A infractions and Class B infractions. Exceeding the posted speed limit by between 1 and 24 mph and other minor traffic offenses qualify as a class A infraction. Exceeding the speed limit by 25 mph or more and other more serious traffic offenses qualify as a Class B infraction. A Class B infraction also is a criminal misdemeanor offense punishable by a fine and jail.
Colorado Penalties for Moving Violations
Class A moving violations are punishable by fines ranging from $30 to $200. Surcharges ranging from $6 to $32 also apply. Fines and surcharges must be paid within 20 days to prevent the matter from being referred to the Colorado court system.
Class B penalties are more severe and include potential jail time. Exceeding the speed limit by 25 mph or more could result in a fine ranging from $150 to $300, but the penalty could more than double if it occurs in a construction zone. A Class B driving penalty also might include a jail sentence of between 10 days and a year.
Colorado Points System
The Colorado points system assesses points for specific moving violations. Accruing too many points could trigger a revocation of driving privileges. A simple moving violation of between 1 and 4 mph over the posted speed limit will not trigger any points. Motorists who drive too fast for road conditions also earn 3 points.
Other moving violations result in the following points when exceeding the posted speed limit by up to:
- 9 mph earns 1 point.
- 19 mph earns 4 points.
- 39 mph earns 6 points.
- 40+ mph earns 12 points.
Accruing too many points will trigger a suspension of driving privileges.
License Suspension and Reinstatement
Accruing at least 9 points during any 12-month period, at least 12 points during any 24-month period, or at least 14 points for a particular event will trigger a suspension of driving privileges for up to a year. The Colorado DMV will reduce the number of points when motorists pay their fines in a “timely manner,” but the fine amount stays the same.
Each suspension or revocation of driving privileges has its own requirements for reinstatement based on the moving violations that triggered it. Once the respective motorist fulfills those requirements, which always include fines and might include jail time, he or she can get full driving privileges reinstated by visiting a local service center. Motorists also can upload required documents and pay a reinstatement fee online or complete a form DR 2870 and mailing it along with the required documents and fees at the address provided on the form.
The Colorado Department of Revenue cannot process payments for moving violations. Adult motorists who are ticketed via a summons or a municipal citation must pay the respective fines through the respective municipal court system through which the ticket is issued.
All other adult motorists can pay fines online within 40 days of receipt of the respective moving violations. Online payments require a valid credit card or debit card and a valid email address. The online payment process takes about 5 minutes to complete.
Teen drivers cannot pay tickets online or via mail and instead must do so at a local Colorado DMV services office. Teen motorists must submit a completed Penalty Assessment Notice Minor Affidavit that is signed by a parent or legal guardian.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?