Basic Auto Insurance
At a minimum, drivers in Connecticut need to have liability insurance. This covers any bodily injury caused to other people and damage caused by a driver’s negligence. The state has minimum insurance requirements of:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury per accident
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 per crash for property damage
At least $25,000 per person/$50,000 per crash coverage for uninsured or underinsured drivers
It’s important to note that liability insurance is all that is required by law, but many drivers opt for better coverage. This is because higher limits provide more security in the case of a collision, preventing lawsuits and high expenses out of pocket.
Some types of auto insurance to consider include:
- Uninsured motorist coverage
- Underinsured motorist coverage
- Basic reparations and medical payments coverage
- Comprehensive coverage
- Full glass overage
- Collision coverage
Each of these offers different protections in the case of a collision or damage to your vehicle.
Required Insurance Documents
The insurance card you carry in Connecticut needs to show that you carry liability insurance at the very least. The insurance card is to be provided to you by your insurance company. You need to keep this card with your vehicle at all times. If you are asked for the vehicle’s registration and insurance, then you need to have it upon demand.
Your Insurance Card
- A permanent insurance card in Connecticut has:
- The name of your insurance company
- The policy number
- The effective date of coverage
- The vehicle year, make, model, and VIN
- The policy owner’s name
If you only have a temporary insurance card, then it may include the insurance company’s name, policy owner’s name, binder number, effective date of coverage, printed name of the agent for the insurance company and identifying information (such as the VIN) for your vehicle.
Insurance fraud is a Class D felony in Connecticut. It is punishable with up to five years in prison, a fine of up to $5,000 or both, depending on the case. The Connecticut Insurance Department handles all fraud claims in the case.
How to Report Fraud to the State
If you find out that someone you know is committing insurance fraud, or if you believe that you know fraud is occurring elsewhere, then it’s important to contact the state Insurance Department. The Insurance Fraud unit handles insurance and arson fraud.
To report fraud, contact:
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?