• Find DMV Offices
  • Find Service Providers
  • U.S. Passports

Delaware DMV Locations

Home 9 US State 9 Delaware DMV Services 9 Delaware DMV Locations


Delaware has an area of 1,982 square miles, which makes it the second-smallest state geographically in the United States. It has the fewest number of counties of any U.S. state. Its three counties are New Castle, Kent, and Sussex.

The state also has only four Division of Motor Vehicles offices. All offices handle both vehicle services and driver services. Vehicle services are those related to titling, registering, and maintaining automotive vehicles, but not boats. DMV conducts general vehicle safety and emissions inspections at these sites for no fee. Vehicle services also include providing license plates, including vanity and handicapped plates and handicapped placards.

Driver services include all those related to driver’s licenses and ID cards. Specifically, these services include:

  • Driver education
  • Driver testing
  • Driver licensing including regular Class D licenses, taxi licenses, commercial driving licenses, and motorcycle endorsements
  • Driver monitoring
  • Driver improvement
  • ID card issuance, including REAL ID and compliant licenses


DMV has four locations in Delaware. The office hours for all the locations are the same. The hours are:

  • Monday: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
  • Tuesday: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
  • Wednesday: 11 a.m. to 7 p.m.
  • Thursday: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
  • Friday: 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.

DMV also provides a handy chart of wait times by location and service so that you can check the wait time before you come.

The four Delaware DMV locations are:

Newcastle County

Newcastle County has two locations. They are:

Newcastle CountyNew Castle, Delaware 19720
Phone: 302.434.3200

This location is immediately south of the Route. 13 and I-495 Interchange and is accessed by turning right onto Hessler Boulevard from Route 13. and

Newcastle County2101 Mid County Drive
New Castle, Delaware 19720
Phone: 302.326.5000

This location is near the intersection of routes 13 and 72 and is accessible from Delaware State Route 1 at exit 152 north.

Kent County

Kent County has one location. It is:

303 Transportation CircleDover, Delaware 19903
New Castle, Delaware 19720
Phone: 302.744.2500

This location is on Transportation Circle behind the Delaware Department of Transportation building on Route 113. It is just south of the Route 13 and Route 113 split.

Sussex County

Sussex County has one location. It is:

23737 DuPont Blvd.Georgetown, Delaware 19947
Phone: 302.853.1000

This location is southeast of Georgetown. It is on South Bedford Street extended, and just before the intersection with Route 113.

You can also contact DMV through the chat function on the website during regular business hours or by emailing DMV customer service at DMVCustomerService@state.de.us. Those customers who are deaf or hard of hearing may contact DMV through its TDD number, which is 1-800-232-5460.

Other DMV Services

In addition to vehicle and driver services, DMV also provides other services. The transportation services department is responsible for licensing and taxing Delaware’s motor fuel/special fuel dealers, monitoring retail gas stations, issuing oversize/overweight vehicle permits, and licensing and enforcing public carrier rules and regulations. The toll services department is responsible for maintaining the state’s toll plazas.

DMV Offices In Delaware

Select Your County In Delaware

Last Verified:
Sep 6, 2022