How Traffic Tickets Could Suspend Driving Privileges
Driving is a privilege and not a right. If you violate driving rules, your driving privileges could be suspended or revoked.
Delaware uses a point system that works like a demerits system and could cost you to lose your license. Anyone who accumulates at least 12 points for various driving infractions must attend a behavioral/attitudinal driver improvement course. Anyone who accumulates 14 points will lose their driving privileges for at least four months.
Drivers also may lose their driving privileges for certain serious driving infractions such as driving under the influence or speeding more than 25 mph over the limit.
How Drivers Get Points Against Them
A variety of minor infractions will net you 2 points. One example is speeding one to 9 mph over the speed limit. Disregarding a stop sign or light earns three demerits. Speeding 10 to 14 mph over the posted limit will earn four demerits and speeding 15 to 19 mph over the posted limit will earn five demerits. Reckless driving, passing a school bus, or causing death with your vehicle will earn six demerit points. Operating a motor vehicle in a manner that causes a death may also earn you other penalties.
Delaware has a forgiveness policy for those who are caught speeding 1 to 14 mph over the posted speed limit who haven’t had any other violations in three years and pay their tickets without going to court.
How Long Do Points Remain on Your Record
Humans make mistakes and almost everyone receives a traffic ticket at some time or other. The good news is that the points don’t stay on your record forever. After 12 months, the point values of each violation are halved, so that they gradually disappear. Disciplinary actions also occur based only on points accumulated within 24 months of the offense.
What Happens When You Get Too Many Points
Drivers who continually violate traffic laws and accrue points on a regular basis will lose their driving privileges. When drivers accrue eight points within a 24-month period, they receive an advisory letter. At 12 points, the driver is required to attend a behavior modification/attitudinal driving course within 90 days or have their license suspended for two months. At 14 points, the driver’s license is suspended for four months and drivers must complete the attitudinal driving course and pay reinstatement fees to regain their driving privileges. At 16 points, the suspension is for six months.
The DMV also can suspend your driver’s license if you commit certain other infractions even if you don’t have other demerit points. These offenses include causing an accident with significant property damage, injuries, or death, driving a car without the permission of the owner, racing, or failing to answer a court summons. You can also lose your driving privileges for some non-driving offenses such as being behind more than $10,000 in child support.
Where to Pay Your Traffic Fines
When you receive a ticket you can plead guilty, waive a hearing, and pay the fine. You can pay fines over the phone, online, or by mail for most offenses. You also can go to court and plead not guilty. If found guilty, you pay your fines at the court.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?