Traffic Violations Overview
Customers who receive traffic citations are responsible for paying or contesting the citation in a timely fashion. Within 30 days of citation issuance, customers must choose whether they want to pay the ticket, contest the citation, or enroll in a driver improvement course.
Drivers who fail to address the citation within the allotted 30 days may be subject to license suspension and additional fines.
Florida points system
The Florida points system aims to give drivers the chance to correct small violations, while also keeping unsafe drivers off the road. The points system in Florida is graduated. The more severe the infraction, the higher the points assigned. Over time, the accumulation of points can result in license suspension.
Common infractions and associated point values include:
- Speeding — 3 points
- Driving too fast for road conditions — 3 points
- Careless driving — 3 points
- Failure to properly use a child restraint —3 points
- Failure to stop at a traffic signal — 4 points
- Reckless driving — 4 points
- Failure to stop for a school bus — 4 points
- Leaving the scene of an accident without providing information when more than $50 of damage occurred as a result of the crash, or failing to leave information after hitting an unattended vehicle or creating property damage — 6 points
If eligible, you can get your traffic ticket dismissed and remove the points from your driving record by taking an approved Florida Traffic School course.
How Long Points Last
Points aren’t the only thing that matters when it comes to your Florida license — time frame matters too. 12 points within 12 months results in a 30-day license suspension. 18 points within 18 months results in a three-month suspension. 24 points within 36 months results in a one-year suspension.
In some cases, you can take a Florida Traffic School course in under 4 hours to dismiss your traffic ticket or moving violation and eliminate the points from your driving record.
License Suspension and Reinstatement
After your license suspension ends, your license is not automatically valid. You’ll need to apply for license reinstatement. In order to reapply, you must pay a reinstatement fee/other fees and submit proof of an Advanced Driver Improvement class completion to any Florida driver license service center. Depending on the severity of your suspension, you may also be required to pay other fees or complete additional clearance requirements.
If you have your license suspended due to point accumulation and are struggling to get to work, you may apply for a hardship license. In order to be eligible for a hardship license, you’ll need to pay a reinstatement fee, complete an Advanced Driver Improvement course, and pay other fees. You may be required to complete additional tasks depending on the severity of your license suspension. The Administrative Reviews Office reviews each hardship license application on a case-by-case basis. If you’re awarded a hardship license, you’re only permitted to drive for purposes related to business or employment.
When you pay a fine with the goal of having your license reinstated, you’ll need to use a check or money order. You’ll allow at least ten days for the processing of your payment. Be sure to include your driver’s license number with any reinstatement fee payments.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?