• Find DMV Offices
  • Find Service Providers

Georgia Vehicle Registration

Home 9 US State 9 Georgia DMV Services 9 Georgia Vehicle Registration
( people found this content useful.) 17 min read

Georgia Vehicle Registration Summary

Read our Georgia Vehicle Registration page to learn about how to register a vehicle with the Georgia DOR/Motor Vehicle Division (MVD), applying for car registration as a new resident, GA registration renewals, vehicle inspections, duplicate registration,address changes, Georgia car insurance requirements, and military member registration.

Registering a Vehicle in Georgia

To own or lease a vehicle in Georgia, you must register it by mail or in person at your local Georgia County Tag Office..

This process will depend on whether you:

  • Bought your vehicle from a Georgia car dealer or from a private-party seller.
  • Currently reside in Georgia or you are a new GA resident.
What to bring to the Georgia MVD :
  • Proof of vehicle ownership (vehicle title).
  • A valid driver’s license or ID.
  • A completed Tag/Title Application (Form MV-1).
  • Proof of Georgia car insurance.
  • Proof of vehicle inspection, if applicable.
  • Acceptable form of payment for GA car registration fees and taxes.

Continue reading below for more specific details about how to register a vehicle in Georgia.

GA Vehicle Registration for New Residents

New to Georgia?

NOTE: Georgia law requires you to transfer your out-of-state vehicle title within 30 days of becoming a GA resident.

To register your vehicle, visit your local County Tag Office and present:

  • A valid GA driver’s license or ID.
  • Proof of Georgia residency (e.g., a bank statement, lease or closing documents).
  • A completed Tag/Title Application (Form MV-1).
  • Proof of ownership (e.g., bill of sale, vehicle title, or Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin).
    • If your vehicle has a lien, you must also provide the lienholder information.
    • If your previous state did not provide a title, you must also provide a Certificate of Inspection (Form T-22B).
  • A passing emissions inspection, if applicable.
    • Individual counties set emissions requirements. Contact your local GA DMV office to determine if your county requires an emissions test for your vehicle.
  • Proof of Georgia car insurance.
  • Payment for GA car registration, fees, and taxes.
    • NOTE: Georgia has 2 different types of vehicle taxes.
      • Annual Ad Valorem Tax (AAVT) on the current value of any vehicle purchased before March 1, 2013.
      • Title Ad Valorem Tax (TAVT) on vehicles purchased after March 1, 2013, or also applies to new Georgia residents.

Registering Vehicles Purchased from a Dealership

When you purchase either a new or used vehicle from a licensed car dealer, you have 30 days from the date of purchase to apply for Georgia vehicle registration.

Dealers will apply for your title on your behalf. However, the Georgia DOR does not require auto dealers to submit your vehicle registration application. We recommend asking ahead of time.

  • If you purchase a brand new passenger vehicle in Georgia, you may select 2-year registration for a $40 fee. Annual registration renewal applies thereafter.
  • Once the state processes your title application, the dealer will send you a copy of the title receipt. Be sure to register your vehicle next..

You’ll need to visit your local GA MVD office and bring all of the following items with you:

  • A non-expired driver’s license or ID.
  • A validated receipt for your Georgia title application.
  • Proof of Georgia car insurance.
  • Your Certificate of Registration for a tag transfer, if applicable.
  • A current Georgia emissions control certificate, if applicable.
  • Payment for GA car registration, fees, and taxes.

NOTE: To save time, you can pre-apply for your title and registration before going to your local GA county tag office to complete the registration process. You will then need to visit your local County Tag Office to complete your registration application.

Vehicles Purchased from a Private Party

In Georgia, if you purchase a vehicle from an individual you must register it within 7 days from the
date of purchase. The DOR can issue your registration during the title application or after they
process your application.

To register your vehicle in Georgia and after pre applying online, please visit your local GA County Tag
Office
and present:

  • Proof of identification (a valid GA driver’s license).
  • Proof of residency.
  • A copy of the bill of sale dated within 7 days.
  • Proof of vehicle insurance, or the policy number and name of the insurance company.
  • The vehicle title, properly assigned from the seller to the buyer OR:
    • The Manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin signed over to you.
    • The current vehicle registration signed over to you.
  • Certificate of registration for tag transfer, if applicable.
  • A current Georgia emissions control certificate, if applicable.
  • Payment for GA title and registration fees, and the applicable sales tax.

If there is a lien on your vehicle, the lienholder will submit the necessary documents to apply for your
title. After the Georgia MVD processes your title application, the lienholder will send you a copy of the
title receipt.

Please remember you will need to complete an online pre-application for title and registration before
visiting a County Tag Office to complete your registration.

Leased Vehicle Registrations

Your local Georgia County Tag Office processes vehicle title and license plate applications for leased
vehicles. Be ready to provide the following information:

Transferring your Georgia Plates and Registration

When you change vehicles in Georgia, you can transfer your old plates to the new vehicle if:

  • The registration contains the same name as the previous vehicle.
    • If the vehicle is not titled in your name, then you must complete the titling process before you transfer your tags to the new vehicle.
  • The vehicles are in the same class and price.
  • You complete the tag transfer within 30 days of purchasing the vehicle.

Once the title is in your name, you can transfer your plates and registration. Go to your local County Tag Office and present:

  • Proof of identification (a valid GA driver’s license).
  • A completed Tag/Title Application (Form MV-1).
  • Proof of registration for the vehicle you are transferring tags from.
  • The original vehicle title for your new vehicle.
  • Proof of Georgia car insurance.
  • Proof of vehicle inspection, if required.
  • Payment for the tag transfer fees that apply for your vehicle.

GA Registration for Military Drivers

Georgia provides special considerations for active duty military personnel with registration and
inspection requirements. Continue reading below to learn more.

Registration for Non-Residents

The Georgia MVD does NOT require service members who are stationed in Georgia (but live out of state) to register their vehicles in Georgia. To do so, your vehicle must display a valid license plate from your home state.

When you become a resident of Georgia, you must apply at your local County Tag Office. Please refer to our section on Vehicle Registration for New Residents to learn more.

GA Military Residents

Active duty Georgia military residents must follow the steps outlined in our Registering a Vehicle in Georgia section.

Georgia military residents stationed out-of-state can register vehicles in their state of residence.
To learn more about the process of registering a vehicle in Georgia while stationed out of state, please
contact the GA MVD.

Renewing Your Registration in Georgia

The Georgia MVD sends out registration renewals at the beginning of your registration month.
receive your registration renewal notices via email, sign up to Go Green.

In Georgia, you can renew your vehicle registration in person, by mail, or online using DRIVES e-Services (for certain counties only). Your renewal notice contains information about participating counties for online renewals.

Additionally, some counties offer registration renewals at a Self-Serve Kiosk.
NOTE: If you did not receive your renewal notice, contact your local Georgia DOR Office.

Georgia Online Registration Renewals

To renew your GA vehicle registration online, visit the Georgia DOR DRIVES e-Services Online registration renewal portal.

Be prepared to have the following information on hand for your renewal:

  • Your license plate or VIN number.
  • Your driver’s license number or Letter ID
    • You can find your Letter IDon your renewal notice.
  • A passing emissions certificate (in required counties).
  • Payment for your GA registration renewal fees and taxes.

To renew your Georgia vehicle registration at a Self-Serve Kiosk, you may visit GAMVExpress to find participating counties.

Below are the eligibility requirements for self-serve kiosks:

  • The county of your vehicle registration must be a participating county.
  • You must have a valid GA state driver’s license.
  • Your current address must appear on your renewal notice.
  • You must have proof of car insurance on file.
  • You must have a Vehicle Emissions Certificate on file, if applicable.

GA Registration Renewals by Mail

To renew your GA vehicle registration by mail, please gather the following:

  • Your Georgia registration renewal notice.
  • Proof of car insurance, if applicable.
  • Proof of a passing emissions test, if applicable.
  • A check or money order for all registration fees stated on your renewal notice and made out
    to the Department of Revenue.

Find the address to your local County Tag Office and mail your payment and copies of all documents.

NOTE: If you do not receive your notice, or your balance due is not calculated in the notice, contact
your County Tag Office.

Registration Renewals In Person

You can pre apply online to save time at the tag office. To renew your Georgia registration in person, visit your local County Tag Office and bring:

Replace a Lost or Damaged Registration

If your GA registration card is lost, stolen, or damaged, you may apply for a duplicate online or in person at your nearest County Tag Office. Continue reading below for specific instructions.

Georgia Registration Replacements Online

To replace your Georgia registration online, be ready to provide the following:

  • Your license plate or Vehicle Identification Number (VIN).
  • A valid GA driver’s license or Letter ID.
  • Your email address.
  • There is no fee for this transaction. The DOR/MVD will email you a copy of your registration.

    Registration Replacements In Person

    To replace your Georgia registration card in person, you’ll need to visit your local County Tag Office and present the following:

  • A completed Application for Replacement Registration Certificate (Form MV-5).
  • Proof of identity (Georgia driver license).
  • Your license plate or Vehicle Identification Number (VIN).
  • Payment for the $8 replacement title fee. There are no fees for duplicate registration cards.

Changes to Your Georgia Car Registration

In Georgia, you have the option to update the name and address on your vehicle registration. Please refer below to learn exactly how to handle registration changes.

Name Changes

You can make changes to your name on your Georgia vehicle registration by mail or in person.

  • NOTE: To change a name on your registration, you must first change the name on your vehicle title. If there is a lien on your vehicle, you will need to apply for any changes to your vehicle registration through your lienholder.

    Name Changes in Person

    To change your name on vehicle registration in person, visit your local County Tag office location and provide:

    • Your original vehicle title.
    • Your Georgia driver license.
    • Legal documents supporting your name change, such as a:
      • Marriage license if the name change is due to marriage.
      • Divorce decree.
      • Court-ordered name change document.
    • Payment for the $18 title fee. There is no fee for a duplicate registration certificate.

    Name Changes by Mail

    To change your name on your registration by mail, you’ll need to gather the following:

    • A completed Tag/Title Application (Form MV-1).
    • A certified copy of your vehicle title.
    • Certified copies of the legal documents supporting your name change, such as a:
      • Marriage license if the name change is due to marriage.
      • Divorce decree.
      • Court-ordered name change document.
    • A certified copy of your GA driver’s license or ID.
    • A letter indicating the reason for the requested change to your vehicle documents.
    • A check or money order for the $18 title fee. There is no fee for a duplicate registration certificate. Make checks payable to the Department of Revenue. Find the address of your County Tag office and mail all of the above or where applicable mail to the DOR:
  • DOR/Motor Vehicle DivisionP.O. Box 740382
    Atlanta, GA 30374

    Address Changes on Georgia Vehicle Registration

    You can change your address with the Georgia MVD online, by mail or in person. You have 30 days from the time of your move to change your address with the DOR.

    Online Address Change in Georgia

    To change your address online, please visit the GA DOR’s DRIVES e-Servicesonline portal.

    When you begin the process, be ready to provide all of the following:

    • A current driver’s license or Letter ID number (found on any document sent to you by the DMV).
    • Your license plate or VIN number.
    • Proof of residency (e.g., lease, bank statement, utility bill, or closing documents).

    • Address Changes in Person

      To change your address in person, visit any County Tag office location and bring:

    • A completed Tag/Title Application (Form MV-1).
    • Your vehicle title.
    • Your Georgia driver’s license.
    • Payment for the $18 title change fee. There is no fee for an address change on your registration.

    To change your address on your car registration by mail, please send copies of the above to:

    DOR/MVDP.O. Box 740382
    Atlanta, GA 30374

    Vehicle Registration Fees in GA

    In Georgia, vehicle registration fees vary by vehicle type and value. The MVD requires you to renew your registration annually.

    Below are some of the initial registration fees for a standard vehicle:

    • Original title application fee: $18
    • Replacement Georgia title fee: $8
    • Replacement registration card fee: $0
    • Replacement license plate or decal fee: $8
    • Tag transfer fee: $5
    • Sales tax/ Title Ad Valorem Tax (TAVT): Fees vary and are based on either your new vehicle’s sale price or the value of your used vehicle. Use the GA MVD’s Ad Valorem tax calculator to calculate your estimated taxes.

    Georgia Vehicle Registration Fees

    Below are the current registration fees:

    • Passenger vehicles and lightweight trucks: $20
    • Registration renewal for passenger vehicles and lightweight trucks: $20
    • Motorcycles: $20

    For a complete list of registration fees in Georgia, you may visit the GA DOR website.

    How useful was this content?

    Click on a star to rate it!

    Since you found this page useful...

    Share it on social media!

    We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

    Let us improve this post!

    Tell us how we can improve this post?

    Last Verified:
    Nov 19, 2022