Traffic Violations in Hawaii 101Hawaii has a unique system for drivers. Traffic violations are civil offenses, not criminal, and may only require you to pay a fee. However, they can still have a negative impact on the cost of your insurance.
Hawaii Points SystemHawaii no longer has a cumulative points system like many of the states in America. Instead, most infractions are civil now instead of being criminal offenses. The majority of traffic offenses only require you to pay a fine or, in rare cases, appear in court. Although there are no points in the traffic system, that doesn’t mean that you won’t face penalties. Hawaii has a traffic abstract and driving history report that insurers and the courts can review if you get in trouble with the law. In some cases, committing a traffic violation could result in your license being suspended, canceled or revoked. Though there isn’t a points system, the court can require you to complete community service if you commit too many minor offenses. Additionally, the Hawaii Department of Transportation could take action against you for your poor driving record. Insurance companies can see your driving record abstract and may charge you more than another person if it appears that you are not driving safely.
How Long Do Points Stay On Your Record?Since Hawaii no longer uses a points system, you won’t have any points on your record. However, your record will retain your offenses for many years, if not permanently. This will have a significant impact on what you pay for insurance.
License Suspension and Reinstatement in HawaiiIf your license has been suspended, you will need to reinstate it locally at the Department of Customer Services in Honolulu County, the Department of Finance in Hawaii County, the Department of Finance, Motor Vehicle and Licensing Division in Maui County or the Treasury Division of Finance, Driver Licensing in Kauai County. Every person has different requirements for reestablishing their licenses. You should contact your local DMV to determine what you need to go to get yours back. For most people, there are fines that will need to be paid. Additionally, you will need to:
- Meet any court requirements
- File an SR21/SR22/Proof of insurance with the Hawaii DMV
- Complete alcohol treatment/education programs when required
- Complete driver improvement courses when required
- Reapply for a license
- Pay a reinstatement fee
Traffic FinesThe cost of traffic fines will vary depending on the location of the offense. The cost will be listed on your traffic ticket. If you don’t have that ticket, then you should get in touch with the HI district court. It may be possible to get a traffic ticket dismissed in some cases. You may need to complete a defensive driving course to do so. You should contact to court to see if there is an alternative option to paying the ticket or accepting the ticket’s penalties. If you’re ready to pay fines, you can pay your ticket online as long as it has been fewer than 21 days. You may also have the option to pay by:
- Visiting your local DMV
You can pay by going online here if you have not missed the 21-day deadline. Remember, some tickets will require you to go to court before you pay the fine.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?