The Idaho DMV requires teen drivers to take an approved drivers education course as part of its graduated driver licensing program (GDL). Drivers ed will help prepare you for your Idaho written exam and road test. To better prepare, you can also take a DMV Practice Test.
Continue reading below to learn more about Idaho driver’s education, defensive driving courses for insurance discounts, and the ID graduated driver’s license program.
Idaho Driver’s Education for New Drivers
You must take an Idaho Driver’s Ed Course if you are younger than 17 years old before you apply for your first ID driver’s license. Notably, the Idaho DMV GDL program is available to teenagers who are at least 14 1/2 years old.
Still driver’s education will benefit anyone who is just starting to drive for the first time and learning skills to operate a vehicle legally and safely.
You’ll need to start the process by obtaining your ID learner’s permit and attending an approved Driver’s Ed program. Also, be sure to take an online DMV Practice Test to prepare for your ID written exam.
Driver’s Education for New Idaho Residents
There are several driver’s ed requirements for new Idaho residents:
- If you’re younger than 17 years old and do not have an out-of-state driver’s license, you must send in the certificate you received for completing your out-of-state driver’s education program. Otherwise, you must take an Idaho driver’s ed course.
- You must complete the supervised driving program to receive an Idaho driver’s license.
- When transferring an out-of-state driver’s license, you do NOT have to submit proof of completion for an out-of-state driver’s education program.
- Further, the Idaho DMV also does not require you to complete the supervised driving requirements.
Curriculum for Idaho Driver’s Education
In Idaho, there are two main parts to the driver’s education curriculum. The first part is the classroom instruction and the second part is behind-the-wheel instruction.
- You must complete at least 30 hours of training in the classroom.
- Observe another driver for 6 hours.
- Practice your driving for at least 6 hours by yourself.
In a driver’s ed course, you will learn about Idaho traffic laws and all of the basics of driving. That includes defensive driving and safe driving practices.
Professional Driving Schools in Idaho
In Idaho, you can take driver’s education at two different kinds of driving schools:
- You can take an approved Idaho driver’s education program through the public high school system. Public driver’s education instructors must obtain a license from the Idaho Department of Education. Read more about these instructors here.
- You can enroll in a driver’s education program at a professional Idaho driving school.
Importantly, there are other approved Idaho Defensive Driving courses for older drivers who already have experience operating a vehicle. It can be a helpful refresher to get instruction from a licensed driving school instructor.
By taking an approved Idaho defensive driving course, you may even qualify for an insurance discount. Keep in mind, you’ll get the discount for 3 years until you have to take the course again.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?