Table of Contents
- The Basics of Selling a Vehicle in Idaho
- Signing the Title
- What to do If You’ve Lost the Title
- Filling Out the Bill of Sale
- The Importance of Including the Odometer Reading
- Why the Bill of Sale is So Important
- Transferring Plates in Idaho
- What to do If You Don’t Transfer Plates
- What to do If You’re Giving the Car Away
- How Executors Can Transfer a Car to an Heir in Idaho
The Basics of Selling a Vehicle in Idaho
If you’re selling a vehicle in Idaho , you must record the transaction on a bill of sale. You also have to sign over the title. If you are selling the car to a dealership, they will create the bill of sale and submit the paperwork to the Idaho Transportation Department (IDT). If you are selling the car to a private party, you must ensure that they turn in the completed bill of sale and title. The best way to do this is to conduct the transaction at an IDT office.
Signing the Title
Your content goes here. Edit or remove this text inline or in the module Content settings. You can also style every aspect of this content in the module Design settings and even apply custom CSS to this text in the module Advanced settings.
What to do If You’ve Lost the Title
If you’ve lost your vehicle’s title, you can still sell it. You will have to submit an application for a duplicate title with a title transfer. The fee for this is $28. You may want to get a duplicate title ahead of time, as many sellers will want to verify that your vehicle has a clean title before purchasing it. If you get a title ahead of time, the fee is $14. A duplicate title application can only be submitted in person at an IDT or county assessor office. You cannot get a duplicate title online.
Filling Out the Bill of Sale
It should be fairly easy to fill out the bill of sale, as it will mostly include the same information that you wrote down on the title. You will have to include your full name, the buyer’s full name, the date of the sale, the odometer reading at the time of sale, and the amount of the sale. Idaho requires that a bill of sale be submitted every time a vehicle is sold within the state.
The Importance of Including the Odometer Reading
It is important to include the odometer reading because it is the law. Such laws were passed because unscrupulous sellers (especially used car dealerships) would manually roll back the odometer to make it seem like the car was worth more. This doesn’t happen as much these days, as newer vehicles have digital odometers.
Why the Bill of Sale is So Important
The bill of sale is important for several reasons. It serves as a legal record of the sale. It provides a record of the vehicle’s odometer reading to ensure that no one tries to roll it back. It also allows the state to calculate how much sales tax is owed.
Transferring Plates in Idaho
Idaho does allow people to transfer registrations. You can visit an IDT or county assessor office to do so. You will need to supply the vehicle’s title and pay the fee.
What to do If You Don’t Transfer Plates
In Idaho (unlike most states) you do not have to surrender your car’s license plates after you sell it.
What to do If You’re Giving the Car Away
If you’re giving the car away to a family member or friend, you will need to complete and sign Form ST-133GT, which exempts them from sales tax. They will also have to sign the form and submit it when they title the vehicle in their name. Of course, you will also have to sign over the title.
How Executors Can Transfer a Car to an Heir in Idaho
Idaho makes it fairly easy for executors to transfer the ownership of a vehicle to an heir. The executor will need the following documentation:
- death certificate
- probate document from court
The executor will have to submit these documents to the IDT.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?