• Find DMV Offices
  • Find Service Providers

Idaho Vehicle Registration

Home 9 US State 9 Idaho DMV Services 9 Idaho Vehicle Registration
( people found this content useful.)

Idaho Vehicle Registration Summary

Read our Idaho Vehicle Registration page to learn how to register a vehicle with the Idaho Transportation Department (ITD). Find additional details on car registration for new Idaho residents, Idaho registration renewals, duplicates, replacements & changes, Idaho auto insurance requirements, and car registration for military personnel.

Registering a Vehicle in Idaho

You must register your vehicle in person with the Idaho Transportation Department (ITD). Here is a quick checklist of items to bring when visiting your local Idaho DMV office. What to bring to the Idaho DMV: Continue reading for specific details about vehicle registration in Idaho.

Registering Vehicles Purchased from an Idaho Dealer

When you purchase either a new or used vehicle from a licensed Idaho car dealer, they will submit the necessary documentation to the Idaho ITD to transfer ownership into your name. You may also register your vehicle online if you choose. Visit the Idaho DMV online services portal for more information.

Vehicles Purchased from a Private Party

In Idaho, you can register your new or used vehicle in person at your local Idaho county assessor’s office. You must first title your vehicle within 30 days to avoid a $20 late-filing penalty. To title your vehicle in person, visit your local Idaho county assessor’s office and present:
  • Your Idaho driver’s license.
  • A completed Application for Certificate of Title (Form ITD 3337).
  • The original title, signed by both the buyer and the seller.
  • A Bill of Sale (the DMV will require one if the seller did not enter a purchase price on the title).
  • A completed Vehicle or Hull Identification Number Certificate (Form ITD 3403).
    • Any of the following individuals can complete the inspection and form: a police officer, DMV employee, military police officer, or Idaho licensed vehicle dealer. The fee for this service is $5.
  • Proof of Idaho auto insurance.
  • Payment for the Idaho car title fee and 6% sales tax.
When you complete the titling process, you can then register your vehicle. You’ll need to submit all of the following:
  • Proof of identity, such as a valid:
    • U.S. Passport
    • Permanent Resident Card (Form I-551)
    • Birth certificate issued in the United States
  • A properly assigned certificate of title.
  • Proof of Idaho car insurance.
  • Payment for the Idaho car registration fees.

Vehicle Registration for New Residents

New to Idaho?

The Idaho IDT requires you to apply for an Idaho title and vehicle registration within 90 days of establishing residency. You may declare residency at any time earlier than that, or register and title your vehicles at that time.

Additionally, before you can register your vehicle, you must obtain an Idaho title and Idaho car insurance with the following minimum coverage:

  • $25,000 for injury or death of 1 person in any one accident.
  • $50,000 for injury or death of 2 persons or more in any one accident.
  • $15,000 for damage or destruction of property of others in any one accident.

To register your vehicle in person, visit your local Idaho county assessor’s office and present:

Idaho Registration for Military Drivers

Active duty Idaho military residents may follow the registration instructions above Registering a Vehicle in Idaho.

Registration for Idaho Residents Stationed Outside Idaho

Idaho military residents stationed out-of-state may register their vehicle by mail. To register by mail, please submit the following: Mail the above to the address on the title application.

Registration for Non-Residents

The Idaho DMV does NOT require non-resident military service members stationed in Idaho to register their vehicles. You must maintain current registration and car insurance from your home state during deployment. When you become a resident of Idaho, you must apply for Idaho car registration. See Vehicle Registration for New Residents to learn more.

Renewing Your Registration in Idaho

You can renew your vehicle registration online, by mail, or in person at a nearby DMV office.

You’ll receive a registration renewal notice by mail prior to its expiration.

Even if you did NOT receive a renewal notice, you must still renew your registration before it expires. See Idaho Renewals to learn more.

Replace a Lost or Damaged Registration

If your Idaho registration document or decals are lost, stolen, or damaged, you can apply for a replacement in person at your local Idaho county assessor’s office.

Replace Registration In Person

To replace your Idaho registration card or decals in person, you’ll likely need to provide:
  • Your full name and address.
  • Your driver license number.
  • Your license plate number or vehicle identification number (VIN).
  • Acceptable payment for the duplicate registration card fee.

Changes to Your Idaho Car Registration

Name Changes on Idaho Registration

Before you can update your Idaho registration and title, you must first change your name with the Social Security Administration (SSA).

Once you complete your name change with SSA, you can update your name with the Idaho DMV.

To change a name on your vehicle registration in person, visit your local Idaho county assessor’s office. Be prepared to provide:

  • Proof of identity.
  • Legal documents supporting your name change, such as a:
    • Marriage license if the name change is due to marriage.
    • Divorce decree.
    • Court-ordered name change document.
  • Payment for duplicate title and registration fees.

Address Changes on Idaho Vehicle Registration

You may change your address with the Idaho DMV online, by mail, or in person.

Online Address Change

To change your Idaho address online, visit the Idaho Transportation Department online services portal and have the following ready:

  • Your social security number
  • Driver’s license or ID number

Once complete, the Idaho DMV will update your address on file. To receive an updated registration card, please follow the steps above in our section Replace a Lost or Stolen Registration.

Address Changes in Person or by Mail

To change your address in person, please visit any Idaho county assessor office and present:

To change your address by mail, complete an Idaho Change of Address Request (Form ITD 3239) and mail to the address on the form.

Vehicle Registration Fees

In Idaho, registration fees vary by vehicle type, age, vehicle weight, county of residence, and other factors. Below are the current base registration fees:
  • Passenger vehicles 1 year or 2 years old: $69
  • Passenger vehicles 3 years to 6 years old: $57
  • Passenger vehicles 7 years old or older: $45
  • Electric Vehicles-add $140 per year to the above registration fees
  • Plug-In Hybrid Vehicles-add $75 per year
  • Trucks weighing 8,001 pounds to 16,000 pounds: $73
  • Motorcycles: $25
Additional Idaho vehicle registration fees:
  • New plate charge: $3.75 per plate
  • County highway district fees: $24$40
  • Duplicate title fee: $14
  • Sales tax rate: 6%
For a more detailed listing of Idaho vehicle registration fees, view the Idaho Transportation Department’s registering a vehicle in the Idaho Fact Sheet.

How useful was this content?

Click on a star to rate it!

Since you found this page useful...

Share it on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Last Verified:
Aug 17, 2022