In Indiana, you are expected to be able to prove that you have insurance and to maintain the appropriate insurance for your car. If you do not maintain insurance and get into a collision, then you could lose your license. You could also lose your license if it’s determined that you don’t have insurance at any time when driving your vehicle.
The requirements in Indiana state that you need to have liability insurance coverage or better. The rates for this insurance are usually low, so most people add on additional forms of insurance to better cover them in the case of an accident or unexpected event. Other insurance options may include collision coverage, emergency roadside assistance or loan/lease gap insurance.
Minimum Acceptable Auto Insurance in Indiana
In Indiana, all drivers are expected to carry liability insurance coverage or better. Liability coverage minimums must be met. Those minimum are:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 for property damage
Failing to maintain this insurance could lead to the loss of your license and other penalties.
All liability policies in the state should also have uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage. This coverage protects you if the other party doesn’t have insurance and causes a collision. The minimums for that insurance are the same as the minimums for liability coverage.
Required Insurance Documents
It’s a good idea to carry a copy of your insurance card with you physically or digitally in the case that you need to present it to a police officer or the BMV. However, if you get into a crash, receive a ticket, commit a serious traffic violation, or commit an offense with a previously suspended license, then the insurance company you maintain coverage through will need to file a Certificate of Compliance.
This certificate is proof that you have maintained the correct insurance coverage. This form is sent to your home, and you have to submit it to the BMV upon request. If you don’t submit proof of insurance, then your license could be suspended.
Insurance Cards in Indiana
You need to show your license and proof of insurance any time a police officer stops you and when you go to the BMV to register or title a vehicle. The proof of insurance is usually requested by the BMV, and then you will need to ask your insurance company for a Certificate of Compliance to provide it to the state.
Reporting Insurance Fraud in Indiana
If you would like to report insurance fraud in Indiana, you can do so by reaching out to the Indiana Department of Insurance. Victims may contact NAIC, and other kinds of fraud should be reported to 800-835-6422. If you need additional help with an insurance fraud case, you can also report it to the Security & Bail Bond Director of the state here:
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?