• Find DMV Offices
  • Find Service Providers

How To Get A Drivers License in Kansas

Home 9 US State 9 Kansas DMV Services 9 How To Get A Drivers License in Kansas
( people found this content useful.) 4 min read

Find a licensing center

While some driver’s license services are available online, you may need to go to a Kansas DOV office in person for some driver’s license services. You can look up the nearest Kansas DOV office here.

Getting a license for the first time

First time getting your driver’s license? Here’s everything you need to know.
Age 14 to 16
Kansas has a graduated license program for teens. At age 14, teens may receive an instructional permit that allows them to drive with an adult driver over 21 in the front seat with them. To obtain the permit, they must pass a vision test and then either pass a knowledge test or present a certificate of completion of an accredited driver education class. They also bring proof of identity and proof of parental approval. After holding the instructional permit for one year and obeying all traffic rules, they can advance to a restricted license. Restricted licenses are for 15-year-olds. This allows them to drive directly to work or school without an adult in the car, as long as they are not transporting any non-adult passengers other than siblings. Other driving requires an adult supervisor. After presenting an affidavit that they’ve driven at least 50 hours and turning age 16, they qualify to remove some restrictions. They can drive anywhere by themselves between the hours of 5 a.m. and 9 p.m. and to work, school, and religious services at any time. If they comply with all traffic laws, they receive a regular driver’s license at age 17.
Age 17+
  • The details: If you’re at least 17 years old and ready to get behind the wheel, the process at the DOV is smooth and simple.
  • What to bring: Pack up your ID document, proof of address, and $23.
  • What you’ll need to do: When you arrive at the DOV, you’ll take a vision test, knowledge test, and road test. Many adults choose to obtain an instructional permit first, which allows them to practice driving with another licensed adult in the front seat. Adults who obtain an instructional permit do not have to hold it for any minimum period of time. They take the road test whenever they feel ready.

Renewing your license

Usually, renewing your license online is a simple process. You’ll have to have a vision exam elsewhere and submit those results and pay the fee. You can also choose to come to DOV in person.
  • What to bring: Pack up your ID document, proof of address, and $23.
  • What you’ll need to do: At the agency, you’ll pass the vision exam, have your photo taken, and receive your new license on the spot.

Do you need a Real ID?

Do you have to get a Real ID? Nope. Will you want one? Probably. Starting October 1, 2021, your standard driver’s license will no longer be accepted as proof of airport identification. You’ll need a passport or a Real ID instead. You can obtain a real ID driver’s license by bringing additional identity documents.

Upgrade your permit and restricted license

If you currently have an instructional permit, you’ll need to come to a DOV office in person to take a road test to obtain a regular Class C license (if an adult) or restricted license (if a teen.) When you want to upgrade your restricted license to a regular license or to have restrictions removed, you’ll also have to appear in person.

Replace a lost or stolen license

You’ll need to come to a DOV office in person to obtain a replacement, bringing the required ID documents.

How useful was this content?

Click on a star to rate it!

Since you found this page useful...

Share it on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Last Verified:
Aug 19, 2022