• Find DMV Offices
  • Find Service Providers

Kansas Insurance

Home 9 US State 9 Kansas DMV Services 9 Kansas Insurance
( people found this content useful.) 4 min read

According to the Kansas Insurance Department, drivers in Kansas are required to have liability insurance with personal injury protection, as well as uninsured motorist coverage, so you’re protected if another person hits you and doesn’t have insurance.

Basic Auto Insurance

According to the Kansas Department of Insurance, the basic auto insurance that you need to have is:

  • Personal injury protection (PIP or No-Fault)
    • The minimum amount required by law:
      • $4,500/person for medical expenses
      • $900/month for one year for disability/loss of income
      • $25/day for in-home services
      • $2,000 for a funeral, burial, or cremation expense
      • $4,500 for rehabilitation expense
    • Survivor Benefits: Disability/loss of income up to $900/month for one year
    • In-home services up to $25/day for one year
  • Liability coverage
    • $25,000/person for bodily injury
    • $50,000/accident for bodily injury
    • $25,000/accident for property damage
  • Uninsured/Underinsured
    • $25,000/person
    • $50,000/accident

This is the absolute minimum that is acceptable within the state. Most insurers have standard and basic policies. Standard policies may cost more but will provide additional benefits such as:

  • Collision coverage
  • Comprehensive coverage
  • Bodily injury liability coverage
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage

Basic auto insurance will meet the state requirements for liability coverage and purchased through any Kansas licensed insurance provider.

Required Insurance Documents

It is important to carry your insurance card on you, either on paper or electronically.

Your Insurance Card

Your insurance card has to be provided in paper or digital form upon request. You may need to present the card:

  • If you are stopped by a police officer during a spot check
  • If you are stopped for a traffic violation
  • When you’re involved in a crash

If you don’t present the card, then you could be fined. Additionally, if you fail to carry insurance, then you could have your license suspended, be subject to insurance surcharges, be fined, or be required to complete community service or even go to jail.

Insurance Fraud

Insurance fraud is taken seriously in Kansas, and those insurance companies licensed in Kansas are required to try to detect it and report it. Insurance fraud includes providing falsified information to your insurance company when submitting an application or making a claim. In most cases, insurance fraud is a felony in Kansas and could result in up to $25,000 or more in fines. Offenders also can be required to make restitution to the insurance company and to anyone else affected.

How to Report Fraud to the State

Insurers are required to report any suspected fraud, and consumers are urged to do so. If you suspect someone is committing fraud, you can report it online at the National Association of Insurance Commissioners Online Fraud Reporting System or write a detailed account listing all persons involved in the case, any addresses or phone numbers you have, and any supporting documents. You may submit a complaint by e-mail to kid.antifraud@ks.gov, but documentation is requested by regular mail. Those tips are confidential and kept anonymous.

How useful was this content?

Click on a star to rate it!

Since you found this page useful...

Share it on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Last Verified:
Aug 19, 2022