Kentucky, like all states, has a graduated license program. Graduated licenses are required for first-time drivers between the ages of 16 and 17. Young drivers must pass tests and submit various documents to get their graduated licenses in the first place. After they have completed their graduated license program and intermediate license program and have received their full license, they may be done with driver education. However, they may find themselves in traffic school if they are trying to keep points off their licenses. Also, some people elect to take defensive driving courses. Read on to learn more about driver education in Kentucky.
Preparing to DriveThere are several requirements for young drivers who are preparing to get their graduated license. They must pass a vision test and a written test. They also have to submit their Social Security card, birth certificate, and proof of residency. The young driver’s parent or guardian must sign an authorization form and submit proof that the young driver is enrolled in school.
Completing the Graduated Driver License Program & The Intermediate License ProgramThe Graduated Driver License Program in Kentucky is meant to be completed in six months. They have to complete 60 hours of driving practice under the supervision of a licensed driver who is at least 21. At least 10 of these 60 hours must be completed at night. If a driver with a graduated license gets a ticket during this 180-day period, the clock is reset. After completing the graduated license program, drivers are eligible to take the driving skills test. If they pass, they will be issued an intermediate license. Like the Graduated Driver License Program, the Intermediate License Program in Kentucky lasts for six months. Drivers with an intermediate license do not need to be supervised, but they cannot drive at night without a good reason. They also cannot have more than one unrelated passenger under the age of 20. After successfully completing six months of driving with an intermediate license, the driver will be eligible for a full license.
Driving School in KentuckyLike many states, Kentucky offers drivers who have received tickets the option to attend traffic school. Those who want to attend traffic school have two course delivery options: they can attend online or in person. Most people choose to attend online, as it can take up to six weeks before in-person classes start. In Kentucky, the online classes are conducted live and participants must have a webcam.
Defensive Driving Courses
Some states have sanctioned defensive driving courses. However, Kentucky does not offer any sanctioned defensive driving courses. Drivers are free to take such courses for their own education, but doing so will not grant them any special rights or privileges under state law. It is important to note that the state-sanctioned traffic courses are separate from private defensive driving courses.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?