To drive a vehicle in Louisiana, you will need to complete your driver training and testing. Preparing to drive may require you to take classes in driver’s education, but what you need to do will depend on your age and driving history.
Testing and Preparing to Drive
Louisiana uses a graduated licensing program. To start with, teens may get a learner’s permit at 15 years old. At 16, they may access the intermediate driver’s license. Finally, at 17, all drivers may have an unrestricted license.
Those who are under 17 must go to the OMV in person with a guardian or parent to get a new license. They must have their own ID with them at the time of that transaction.
To get a learner’s permit, you will need to apply at the local Office of Motor Vehicles with a guardian. You also need to complete:
- 30 hours of classroom instruction in Driver’s Ed
- 8 hours of behind-the-wheel training
The OMV will request your birth certificate or Social Security card, a certificate of required attendance from your school as well as a fee of $32.25 to get your license.
Graduated Driver License
The graduated driver license program starts at age 15 and is completed by age 17.
At 15, you can get a learner’s permit. This allows supervised driving with an adult over the age of 21. They must possess a valid driver’s license.
Intermediate Driver’s License
The intermediate license is available at age 16 and allows drivers to drive unsupervised between the hours of 5:00 a.m. and 11 p.m. If a licensed adult is in the vehicle, then the driver may drive freely at any time.
The major limitation on this license is that you may have no more than one passenger under the age of 21 in the vehicle between 6:00 in the evening and 5:00 the next morning. The exception to this is if you are driving with an immediate family member or licensed adult.
Remedial Driver Programs
Unrestricted licenses are available to those who are at least 17.
Defensive Driving Courses
If you have violated traffic laws or just want to become a better driver, you can complete a defensive driving course in Louisiana. Many driving courses are online and used to help get traffic tickets dismissed to minimize insurance penalties. The courses take around six hours to complete and will go through an entire Louisiana Driver Improvement Course.
In approved courses, you may learn about:
- Responsible driving behaviors
- Alcohol/drug abuse and violations
- Louisiana’s traffic laws
- How to share the road with pedestrians, cyclists, and other motorists
- Minor and major traffic offenses
Most of the time, a course is around six hours, but they may be up to 12 hours long. Once you complete this program, you should submit your certificate of completion to the traffic court in your parish, your insurance provider or the Louisiana OMV for review.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?