According to the Maine Bureau of Insurance, drivers in Maine are required to have bodily and property liability insurance with medical payments protection. You may also have to add on uninsured motorist coverage, so you’re protected if another person hits you and doesn’t have insurance.
Basic Auto InsuranceAccording to the Maine Bureau of Insurance ,the basic auto insurance that you need to have is:
- $25,000 property damage liability
- $50,000 bodily injury liability per person or $100,000 per accident
- $2,000 per person in medical payments coverage
- $50,000 per person, $100,000 per accident uninsured motorist protection
- Collision coverage, which pays for damages to your vehicle
- Comprehensive coverage, which covers damage to your car from hazards other than accidents
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, which covers you for damages in the event of an accident with a motorist who has no insurance or too little insurance
- Towing and car rental coverage
Required Insurance DocumentsIt is important to carry your insurance card with you. The required document should be issued either as a paper copy or electronic copy and be available for each vehicle on your policy. While the state allows drivers to prove auto insurance coverage with electronic cards displayed on mobile phones or other digital devices, it also recommends that drivers carry physical cards.
Your Insurance CardYour insurance card has to be provided in paper or digital form upon request. You may need to present the card:
- If you are stopped by a police officer during a spot check
- If you are stopped for a traffic violation
- When you’re involved in a crash
- Before a vehicle inspection
Insurance FraudInsurance fraud is taken seriously in Maine. Insurance fraud, which includes providing falsified information to your insurance company when submitting an application or making a claim, could result in:
- Fines of up to $5,000
- A jail or prison sentence
- Denial of insurance benefits
- Payments to the insurance company to cover damages, overcharges, and the insurance company’s legal representation
How to Report Fraud to the State
If you suspect someone you know is committing fraud, you can report it to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners online. You can also contact the Maine Insurance Bureau through its Website at www.MaineInsuranceReg.org ; by calling 800-300-5000; or by writing to
Augusta ME 04333
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?