The Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) is in charge of enforcing all licensing requirements in the state. The MVA oversees the state’s Driver Education Program, which helps to ensure licensed driver’s know traffic laws and basic driver safety and have good vision. That helps to make road travel much safer. The following is a closer look at Maryland’s licensing requirements for individuals.
Testing and Preparing to Drive
Virtually anyone who is of legal age, successfully completes a certified driver education course and logs six hours of training while behind the wheel can apply for and obtain a Maryland driver’s license. Privately owned driving schools that meet state certification requirements provide the classroom and road-going training. Anyone who successfully completes the certified driver program and passes a vision and knowledge test at a local MVA office can obtain a Maryland driver’s license.
Graduated Driver’s License
Maryland employs a Rookie Driver Graduated Driver Licensing System that helps new drivers to safely learn how to drive safely and legally on state roadways. Maryland’s graduated driver’s license system has three parts:
- Learner’s permit
- Provisional license
- Full driver’s license
The learner’s permit is what teen drivers and first-time adults obtain and can use to drive on a very limited basis while supervised by a licensed adult driver. The rookie driver also must successfully complete a 30-hour classroom course and six hours of road training while actually behind the wheel. The learner’s permit applies to any legal-age would-be motorist who wants to obtain a driver’s license for the first time.
Teens must be at least 15 years and 9 months of age to obtain a learner’s permit. Anyone seeking a learner’s permit must provide proof of residency, pass a vision test and pass a knowledge test. The MVA urges those seeking a learner’s permit to study the Maryland Driver’s Manual and practice with the state’s Online Driver Test Tutorial to get ready for the knowledge exam.
Upon successful completion of learner’s permit requirements, rookie driver’s then obtain a Provisional License after they pass a road test. The provisional license is available to any qualifying driver who is at least 16 years and 6 months of age. It allows them to drive on a limited basis, like going to work, and during restricted hours.
Any violations will require the motorist to continue with the provisional license for another 18 months. Others can obtain full driving privileges after they successfully use a provisional license without being ticketed or committing other violations.
Remedial Driver Programs
Motorists who are ticketed for too many traffic offenses or commit serious offenses, like DUI, often are required to complete remedial driver programs. Maryland offers driver improvement programs and three-hour alcohol and drug education programs through certified private providers. The Driver Improvement Program is a four- to eight-hour course designed to improve remedial driving skills by traffic offenders. Successful completion of one or both often is a requirement to regain full driving privileges following one or more serious traffic offenses or accumulated offenses.
Defensive Driving Courses
Maryland’s Driver Improvement Program is open to any licensed Maryland driver who wants to improve her or his driving skills. The course is designed for traffic offenders but can help lawful drivers, too. You also could sign up to a third-party defensive driving course.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?