Maryland residents must insure their vehicles with at least state-mandated minimums to drive legally. Driving an uninsured vehicle on Maryland roadways could earn the offender a $150 fine during the first 30 days. The fine increases by $7 per day after 30 days with a maximum potential fine of $2,500.
The Maryland MDOT MVA validates vehicle insurance during the annual renewal time. Residents can update their insurance information through the MDOT MVA eServices Portal.
Basic Auto Insurance
Maryland requires basic auto insurance coverage that provides liability protection for bodily injuries or property damage to others. The legal minimum levels of liability insurance coverage to legally drive on Maryland roads are:
- $30,000 for bodily injuries per person.
- $60,000 for bodily injuries to more than one person.
- $15,000 for property damage.
It is important to note that the driver and insured vehicle are not insured by the state-mandate minimums. Only other people and their property are protected up to policy limits. Full coverage is available when adding collision and comprehensive insurance that protects the insured vehicle.
Required Insurance Documents
All motorists must carry proof of insurance while driving. The proof of insurance will list the vehicle, its VIN number, the owner and the address where the vehicle is parked. Proof of insurance also will list the policyholder’s name and the types and levels of coverage. Most importantly, it lists the liability coverages for bodily injuries and property damage as required by state law.
Your Insurance Card
Virtually all auto insurers provide a convenient, wallet-sized insurance card that makes it easy to provide current proof of insurance for an insured vehicle. The insurance card lists the vehicle owner, make and model, year and VIN number. It also lists the liability coverages that are in effect so that state or a police officer can affirm the state-mandated amounts are included. The insurance card also makes it easy to exchange insurer information following an accident.
Insurance fraud is a crime in Maryland and every other state in the union. Insurance fraud occurs whenever someone files an insurance claim and knowingly provides false information. The false information might involve the events leading up to the incident, the extent of damages or the extent of injuries in order to obtain a higher insurance settlement.
Whenever someone knowingly provides false information in order to obtain a larger financial settlement, he or she has engaged in insurance fraud and a criminal act. The Coalition on Insurance Fraud estimates each Maryland resident pays an extra $1,000 annually in insurance premiums due to fraud
How to Report Fraud to the State
Anyone with knowledge of insurance fraud that occurs in Maryland can report it to the Maryland Insurance Administration’s Insurance Fraud Division by calling toll-free at 800-846-4069. The Insurance Fraud Division personnel will not ask for the name or other identifying information regarding people reporting insurance fraud. An online form also enables residents to report fraud to the state via email at email@example.com.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?