Testing and Preparing to DriveFor teens preparing to obtain their first driver’s license, they will need to complete a Driver’s Ed program. This program has to meet the requirements set by the RMV. The program’s priority is to educate teens and young drivers on the skills needed to drive as well as the rules of the road.
Graduated Driver License ProgramMassachusetts does have a graduated driver license program. This program, called the Junior Operator License Program, starts by requiring drivers to get a learner’s permit. This permit can be granted at age 16. At 16-and-a-half, drivers are then able to obtain the junior license by:
- Holding the learner’s permit for six months
- Completing 40 hours of supervised driving practice
- Taking a skills development program (then only 30 hours of practice are needed)
- Having no traffic violations for at least six months prior to your road test
Remedial Driver ProgramsThe Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles offers several defensive driving courses. These include:
- 8-Hour Driver Retraining Program
- Online Distracted Driving Program
- 4-Hour Driver Attitudinal Retraining Program
- 4-Hour State Courts Against Road Rage
Defensive Driving CoursesThe state’s defensive driving courses stated above all offer training to help remove points from their licenses after a violation.
8-Hour Driver Retraining ProgramThe 8-hour retaining program is designed for motorists who have been notified that their license is going to be suspended by the RMV. This program helps them avoid a license suspension.
Online Distracted Driving ProgramThe online distracted driving program is for motorists who have been ticketed for violating two or more distracted driving laws. They will be required to complete this program to keep their licenses.
4-Hour Driver Attitudinal Retraining ProgramThe attitudinal retraining program is aimed at improving a driver’s attitude to reduce road rage events. Junior operators who have lost their licenses need to complete this program to get it reinstated. The RMV Hearings Officer may also require someone to pass this program based on individual circumstances.
4-Hour State Courts Against Road RageThe four-hour road rage program is for those with learner’s permits or junior operator licenses. If they violate laws related to road rage, then they will need to complete the SCARR program to get their licenses reinstated.
Drivers may have this program assigned to them if they go to court over an offense. This program is offered by the RMV, Massachusetts State Police, and the National Safety Council.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?