Massachusetts requires drivers to obtain car insurance in case of a crash or vehicle-related incident. The state’s mandates protect drivers, passengers, and others who may be involved in collisions.
In order to register your vehicle in Massachusetts, you do need to have automobile insurance prior to the registration. This is because the car registration serves as your proof of insurance. There are compulsory coverages that all drivers must have, though most also select from optional coverages to round out their policies.
Basic Auto Insurance
Massachusetts requires drivers to have a policy with four kinds of coverage:
- Personal injury protection
- Bodily injury to others
- Bodily injury caused by an uninsured auto
- Damage to another person’s property
There are other types of optional insurance that drivers may elect to have including:
- Comprehensive coverage
- Collision coverage
Minimum limits are required. These include:
- Personal injury protection: $8,000 per person, per accident
- Bodily injury to others: $20,000 per person and at least $40,000 per collision
- Bodily injury caused by an uninsured auto: $20,000 per person and up to $40,000 per accident
- Damage to another person’s property: $5,000
At least this much insurance coverage is required before anyone can drive legally in Massachusetts.
Required Insurance Documents
In Massachusetts, drivers don’t need to show their insurance cards as proof of insurance. Instead, the vehicle’s registration will have that information present. The vehicle’s car registration is also used as proof of insurance, so it should be kept with the vehicle at all times.
If you want to change your insurance, you will need to complete a Registration and Title Application with the requested changes. The form needs to be signed and stamped by the insurance agent you’re working with. It costs $25 to change the insurance information, but you can change it by mail, in person, or online.
Send it by mail to:
Attn: Mail In Registration Department
PO Box 55891
Boston, MA 02205-5891
Online, make a profile on the Mass.gov website, then complete the change of address transaction in your account.
You should update your insurance as soon as you change the policy, so that your vehicle registration reflects the new policy. In the meantime, carry an insurance card that reflects the new policy, which you can attach to your vehicle registration inside your car or truck.
Your Insurance Card
Massachusetts law doesn’t require drivers to carry an insurance card or policy information as proof of insurance. However, a card could be requested from the insurance provider if a driver is going out of state. If you request a card for out-of-state travel, check the other state’s requirements and keep your card in that format. Most states now accept digital or printed copies of insurance cards.
Car insurance fraud is heavily penalized in Massachusetts. It results in:
- Up to five years in prison
- Fines of up to $10,000
How to Report Fraud to the State
If you suspect that someone you know is committing insurance fraud, you can report it to the state. Call the Insurance Fraud Bureau of Massachusetts at 800-323-7283.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?