• Find DMV Offices
  • Find Service Providers

Michigan Vehicle Registration

Home 9 US State 9 Michigan DMV Services 9 Michigan Vehicle Registration
( people found this content useful.) 14 min read

MI Vehicle Registration Summary

On our Michigan Vehicle Registration page, you’ll find information about how to register a vehicle with the Michigan Secretary of State (SOS), car registration for new Michigan residents, temporary registration, MI registration renewal, duplicate registration, replacements & changes MI auto insurance requirements, and MI military member registration.

Michigan Car Registration Overview

Registering a Vehicle in Michigan

You must register your vehicle through the Michigan Secretary of State.

Below is a general list of items to bring when visiting a local Michigan DMV office.

What to bring to the MI SOS:

Continue reading for more details about how to register a vehicle in Michigan.

MI Vehicle Registration for New Residents

New to Michigan?

Michigan law requires you to apply for an Michigan title and vehicle registration immediately upon establishing residency.

To register your vehicle, visit your local MI SOS facility and present:

  • A completed Application for Michigan Vehicle Title (Form TR-11L).
  • Proof of identification (e.g., out-of-state driver’s license, passport or ID card).
  • Proof of no fault car insurance.
  • Proof of ownership (such as an original out-of-state-title) OR your out-of-state registration (if the title is held by a lienholder).
    • All owners listed on the title must be present.
  • Payment for MI car registration and title fees. Michigan determines the registration fees for passenger vehicles by vehicle age. The current Michigan title fees are $15.

Registering Vehicles Purchased from a MI Dealer

When you purchase a new or used vehicle from a licensed Michigan car dealership, they will take care of the registration process for you.

The dealer will then collect all of the applicable fees and taxes, and will submit all necessary documents to the MI SOS on your behalf. You can expect to receive a new title within 30 days. Your dealer must submit the following for you:

Vehicles Purchased from a Private Party

NOTE: The MI SOS recommends that both the buyer and seller visit the SOS office for a seamless registration and titling transaction.

In Michigan, if you purchase a vehicle from an individual, you have 15 days from the date of purchase to register it. Otherwise, a $15 late fee will apply.

To register your vehicle, visit your local MI SOS office and present:

  • Proof of identity (e.g., MI driver’s license or ID).
  • Proof of vehicle insurance.
  • The vehicle title, properly assigned from the seller to the buyer, including the odometer disclosure statement and VIN.
    • If all owners cannot sign the title, they may appoint an agent to sign on their behalf by completing an Appointment of Agent Form (Form TR-128).
  • A lien termination statement (if there is a lien on the vehicle).
  • Payment for MI car registration and title fees, and the applicable 6% use tax fees.

Transferring your Michigan Plates and Registration

When you change vehicles in Michigan, the Michigan SOS will allow you to transfer your old plates to the new vehicle if the license plate is already in your name.

To transfer your plate with the SOS, gather the following:

  • Your current Michigan car registration:
    • Your license plate number will be sufficient if the MI Branch Office can verify the
      information in their system.
  • The title to your new vehicle.
  • Payment for the $10 tag transfer fees and $5 registration fee when titling a vehicle and
    transferring a plate.

MI Registration for Military Drivers

Registration for MI Residents Stationed Outside Michigan

To register your vehicle as a Michigan resident who is stationed outside of the state, you will need to gather all of the following:

Mail everything to:

Michigan Department of State
The Special Services Branch
7064 Crowner Drive
Lansing, MI 48918

Registration for Non-Residents

The Michigan DMV does NOT require service members who are stationed in Michigan (but reside in another state) to register their vehicles in MI.

MI military personnel must maintain current registration and car insurance from their home state during deployment. If they become a resident of the state, they’ll need to apply for MI car registration.You may refer to the section above, Vehicle Registration for New Residents to learn more.

Temporary Registration Permits

The Michigan SOS issues temporary permits for 30 days or 60 days to Michigan residents who use their vehicles occasionally. That includes residents who currently serve in the military and those who are out of the country for extended periods.

Residents may purchase temporary permits instead of renewing their license plates for 1 year. You may apply for a permit at any Secretary of State branch office and present:

  • Proof of ownership such as the vehicle’s Michigan title or expired plate registration.
  • Proof of Michigan no-fault insurance.
  • Payment for your permit fees:
    • Permit for 30 Days: currently the fee is 1/10 the annual registration fee or $20,
      whichever is greater. Plus a $10 service fee.
    • Permit for 60 Days:Currently the fee is 1/5 the annual registration fee or $40,
      whichever is greater. Plus a $10 service fee.

Renewing Your Registration in Michigan

In Michigan, you can renew your vehicle registration online, in person, at a self-service station, or by mail.

The MI Secretary of State typically mails your renewal notice 45 days prior to the expiration.

Registrations expire on your birthday. You can renew a plate up to 6 months early, and you must renew your vehicle registration annually.

Online Registration Renewals in MI

To renew your MI vehicle registration online, visit the MI SOS’s online registration renewal portal. You’ll need the unique PIN on your renewal notice to renew online via Online Quick Renewal or MILogin.

Renewing your MI vehicle registration online via Online Quick Renewal applies only to a single registration. Also, your renewal notice must contain your correct address and vehicle details.

Be sure to have the following information ready:

  • Your MI registration renewal notice and PIN.
  • Your license plate number.
  • Your vehicle VIN.
  • Payment information for MI registration renewal fees.
  • Online renewals with MILogin only apply when you are renewing your registration for multiple vehicles or making changes to your address.

    Be ready to provide the following information:

    • Your MI registration renewal notice and PIN.
    • Your license plate number.
    • The last 4 digits of your Social Security Number.
    • Your birthdate and eye color.
    • Your MI driver’s license number.
    • A credit card for MI registration renewal fees.

MI Registration Renewals at a Self-Serve Station

To renew your MI registration at a self-serve station, you will need:

  • Your vehicle plate number.
  • The PIN on your renewal notice.
  • The Vehicle Identification Number (VIN).
  • A credit card for MI registration renewal fees.

NOTE: If your insurance carrier does not participate in Electronic Verification (EIV), you cannot renew online or at a self-service station.

MI Registration Renewals by Mail

To renew your MI vehicle registration by mail, the Michigan SOS requires that the vehicle owners name and vehicle details on your notice are correct. If you need to change your address on your registration, check “yes” for change of address on the front of your renewal notice. Then, write in your new address on the back of the notice in the space provided.

Gather all of the following and mail to the address on your renewal notice:

  • Payment for your registration renewal fees (make your check payable to the Michigan Department of State).
  • Your Renewal Notice.
  • Proof of Insurance.

NOTE: If you do not have your renewal notice, use the renewal fee calculator to determine your fees.

Registration Renewals In Person

To renew your MI registration in person, you can visit your local MI SOS facility and bring:

Replace a Lost or Damaged Registration

For lost, stolen, or damaged MI registration cards or tabs, you can apply for a replacement online, or in person at your local MI SOS office.

Online Replacements

To replace your MI duplicate registration card online, you’ll need to visit the SOS vehicle services portal and have the following information:

  • Your license plate number.
  • Your social security number.
  • Your driver’s license number including your eye color and date of birth.

In-Person Replacements

To replace your MI registration card in person, you’ll need to visit your local MI SOS office and present the same items as shown above for online duplicate registration.

Changes to Your MI Car Registration

Name Changes on MI Registration

You can make changes to your name and/or address on your MI vehicle registration by visiting the MI SOS in person.

To change a name on Michigan vehicle registration, you must first change the name on your vehicle title. There is a $15 title correction fee.

To proceed, you’ll need to present the following at your local Michigan SOS office location:

  • Your Michigan driver’s license.
  • Legal documents supporting your name change such as a:
    • Marriage license if the name change is due to marriage.
    • Divorce decree.
    • A court-ordered name change document.
  • Payment for the $15 title fee.

Address Changes on MI Vehicle Registration

NOTE: Please note, you must change the address on your Michigan driver’s license as soon as
possible. When you update the address on your driver’s license, the SOS will automatically update the address on your vehicle registration.

You may change your address with the MI SOS online, by mail, or in person.

Online Address Change in Michigan

To change your address online, please visit the MI SOS website’s vehicle services portal.

Please follow the prompts to update your address. Once complete, the SOS will notify you of theseupdates by mail. If you prefer to have this verification sent to your current address, you must make the change to your address in person.

Address Changes By Mail

To change your address by mail with the MI SOS, please complete a Michigan Change of Address/Voter Registration form (Form ED-109W) and mail it to:

Michigan Department of State
PO Box 30764
Lansing, MI 48909
Address Changes in Person

To change your address in person, please visit any MI SOS office and complete a Michigan Change of Address/Voter Registration form (Form ED-109W).

Vehicle Registration Fees in MI

Michigan Vehicle Registration Fees

Michigan registration fees for passenger vehicles will depend on your vehicle’s age, weight and value.

  • Registration fees for passenger vehicles with a model year of 1984 and newer are based on the MSRP (Manufacturer’s Suggested Retail Price) before any options or taxes are added.
  • Registration fees for vehicles with a model year of 1984 and older are based on weight.
    • To calculate registration fees for vehicles in this category, please refer to the state’s vehicle weight chart.

Below are some of the other Michigan registration and title fees:

  • License plates transfer fee: $10.
  • Original title certificate fee: $15
  • Duplicate/corrected title fee: $15
  • Replacement registration ID card fee: $0
  • Replacement plate fee: $5
  • Sales/use tax: 6%

For a complete list of vehicle registration fees, you may visit the MI SOS website.

How useful was this content?

Click on a star to rate it!

Since you found this page useful...

Share it on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Last Verified:
Aug 2, 2022