Minnesota, like all other states, requires drivers to carry car insurance. Personal liability and personal injury insurance are required. Minnesota is also one of the few states to require both underinsured motorist coverage and uninsured motorist coverage. Read on to learn more about the auto insurance requirements in Minnesota.
Basic Minnesota Car Insurance Requirements
The required types of auto insurance in Minnesota include personal liability, personal injury, underinsured motorist, and uninsured motorist. The minimum amounts of coverage are as follows:
- Personal injury protection (PIP): $40,000
- Liability: $30,000 for injury to one person; $60,000 for injuries to two or more people; $10,000 for property damage
- Underinsured motorist: $25,000 for injury to one person; $50,000 for injury to two or more people
- Uninsured motorist: $25,000 for injury to one person; $50,000 for injury to two or more people
If you have financed your car, your finance company will likely require you to carry collision and comprehensive insurance. However, the state of Minnesota does not require this type of insurance.
Required Car Insurance Documents
Drivers are required to carry proof of insurance in the vehicle at all times. If you get stopped by a law enforcement officer, you may be asked to show proof of insurance. It is important that you are able to produce an insurance card from an active policy. Most drivers will print out an insurance card and keep it in their vehicle’s glove compartment. However, it is possible to keep a digital copy on your phone instead.
Your Auto Insurance Card
Your auto insurance card will vary slightly depending on which insurer you choose. However, all auto insurance cards have the same basic information. This information will include:
- the policy’s start date
- the policy’s end date
- the name of the insurer
- the policy number
- your name
- your vehicle’s make, model, year, and VIN
- the types of coverage included in the policy
Make sure that you print out a new insurance card and put it in your vehicle if you make any changes to your policy or if you get a new policy. You are required by law to carry accurate and valid proof of insurance at all times. Failing to do so could result in a fine.
Insurance Fraud in Minnesota
Insurance fraud, including auto insurance fraud, is a felony in Minnesota. The penalties for insurance fraud are very stiff in the state. Most auto insurance fraud cases fall in the $500 to $1000 dollar range. The maximum penalties for this level of fraud in Minnesota include a year in jail and up to $3,000 in fines. Lying on an auto insurance policy application is considered to be insurance fraud.
Reporting Insurance Fraud in Minnesota
Insurance fraud in Minnesota must be reported to the Fraud Bureau of the Commerce Department. You can file a complaint on the National Associate of Insurance Commissioner’s website.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?