• Find DMV Offices
  • Find Service Providers

Minnesota Vehicle Registration

Home 9 US State 9 Minnesota DMV Services 9 Minnesota Vehicle Registration
( people found this content useful.)

MN Vehicle Registration Summary

On our Minnesota Vehicle Registration page, you’ll learn about how to register a vehicle with the Minnesota Driver Vehicle Services (DVS). Find additional details on car registration for new Minnesota residents, MN registration renewal, duplicates, replacements & changes, MN auto insurance requirements, and MN military member registration.

Registering a Vehicle in Minnesota

You must register your vehicle with the Minnesota Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS).
Here is a quick checklist of items to bring when visiting your local Minnesota DVS office.

What to bring to the MN DVS:

Continue reading for specific details about registering a vehicle in Minnesota.

Registering Vehicles Purchased from a Minnesota Dealer

When you purchase either a new or used vehicle from a licensed Minnesota car dealer, they will submit the necessary documents to the MN DVS to transfer ownership into your name.

Vehicles Purchased from a Private Party

In Minnesota, you can register your new or used vehicle either by mail or in person at your local Minnesota DVS office. You must register and transfer the title of your vehicle within 10 days of the purchase date to avoid a penalty.

To register your vehicle in person, visit your local Minnesota DVS office and present:

Register By Mail (Private Party Sales)

To register your vehicle by mail, send all of the above documents and fees to:

Minnesota DVS
445 Minnesota St.
St. Paul, MN 55101

Please allow 10 days for processing. The Minnesota DVS will mail your registration documents to you.

MN Vehicle Registration for New Residents

New to Minnesota?

The Minnesota DVS requires you to apply for a Minnesota title and vehicle registration within 60 days of establishing residency. You can register your vehicle either by mail or in person at your local DMV office.

To register in person, visit your local Minnesota DVS office and present:

  • The current certificate of title or the registration card, if the title is not available.
    • If your title has a lien, you must surrender your current registration card. The Minnesota DVS will NOT issue a title until you surrender the out-of-state title.
  • A Notification of Assignment, Release or Grant of Secured Interest (Form PS 2017), if the title reflects a lien and it has been paid.
  • An Application to Title/Reg. A Vehicle (Form PS 2000).
  • A bill of sale or dealer purchase agreement, if you have owned the vehicle for less than 90 days.
  • A current vehicle odometer reading.
  • A copy of your leasing agreement or a power of attorney agreement between the leasing company and you. Also, provide the leasing company’s Minnesota Tax ID number.
  • Proof of “no fault” car insurance.
  • Payment for MN car registration, fees, and taxes.

To register by mail, please send all of the above to:

Minnesota DVS
445 Minnesota St.
St. Paul, MN 55101

MN Registration for Military Drivers

Minnesota military residents currently residing in the state can register their vehicles as normal.

See Registering a Vehicle in Minnesota to learn more.

Registration for MN Residents Stationed Outside Minnesota

Registration Exemption for Active Duty Military Personnel

For Minnesota residents currently on active duty and deployed outside the state, the MN DVS
exempts such individuals from registration tax while in active service. This exemption extends for 90 days after the completion of active service. All other related fees still apply.

Current eligibility requirements to qualify for the vehicle registration exemption include:

  • You must own or co-own the vehicle.
  • The vehicle is currently out-of-state or overseas.
  • You cannot operate your vehicle on a Minnesota public highway unless on furlough or leave.
  • Provide a copy of your military orders or letterhead from your base commander, specifying the dates of your active duty.

Registration for Non-Residents

The MN DVS does NOT require non-resident military service members stationed in Minnesota to
register their vehicles.

However, you would need to maintain current registration and car insurance from your home state during deployment.

When you become a resident of Minnesota, you must apply for MN car registration.

See Vehicle Registration for New Residents to learn more.

Renewing Your Registration in Minnesota

You can renew your MN vehicle registration online, by mail, or in person at a nearby DVS office.

The Minnesota DVS imposes certain eligibility requirements for online and mail applications, including:

  • You must renew your Minnesota vehicle registration annually.
  • You must have valid car insurance to renew your registration.
  • You will receive a renewal notice prior to the expiration. This notice will contain the following information:
    • The due date for your renewal.
    • Your renewal fee.
  • Your name and current address on file.
  • See Minnesota Renewals to learn more.

Replace a Lost or Damaged Registration

If your MN registration document or tabs are lost, stolen, or damaged, you can apply for a replacement online, by mail or in person at your local Minnesota DVS office.

Online Replacement

To replace your MN registration card online, use the MN DVS vehicle services online portal. Eligibility requirements for online replacements are as follows:

  • Your vehicle registration must be valid/current.
  • You must not lease your vehicle.
  • Your registration expiration cannot be within 14 days.

If you meet all of the above requirements, you may proceed with your online registration replacement.

Be prepared to submit the following:

  • Your Minnesota driver’s license or ID number.
  • Your vehicle plate number.
  • The vehicle identification number (VIN).
  • Appropriate payment for the $13.25 duplicate registration fee.

NOTE: You will receive your duplicate registration by mail within 10 days.

Replace Registration By Mail or In Person

To replace your MN registration card or decals in person or by mail, you’ll need to provide:

Bring your application and payment to your local MN DVS office.

To submit by mail, mail all of the above to:

Minnesota Department of Public Safety
Driver and Vehicle Services
445 Minnesota St.
St. Paul, MN 55101
NOTE: Duplicate registration card fees vary. Contact the MN DVS to determine your exact fee.

Changes to Your MN Car Registration

Name Changes on MN Registration

Before you can update your Minnesota registration, you must first change your name with the Social Security Administration (SSA).

Once you complete your name change with SSA, you can update your name with the Minnesota DVS. To change a name on your vehicle registration in person, visit the MN DVS and provide:

  • Proof of identity.
  • Legal documents supporting your name change, such as a:
    • Marriage license, if the name change is due to marriage.
    • Divorce decree.
    • A court-ordered name change document.
  • Payment for the duplicate registration fee.
  • Address Changes on MN Vehicle Registration

    You may change your address with the MN DVS online, or in person.

    Online Address Change

    To change your Minnesota address online, please visit the MN DVS online services portal.

    Please have the following ready:

    • Vehicle license plate number.
    • Your vehicle identification number (VIN).
    • Driver’s license or ID number.

    Once complete, the MN DVS will update your address on file.

    Address Changes in Person

    Changing the address on your driver license updates your address with the MN DVS.

    To change your address in person, you must visit any MN DMV office. To receive a license with your updated address, you must apply for a duplicate driver license.

    To save time, before your visit, you can use the DMV’s pre-application feature.

    During your visit to the DMV, be prepared to provide:

    • Your driver’s license or ID.
    • Your vehicle information, if requested.
    • Payment for the $17 duplicate license fee.

Minnesota Vehicle Registration Fees

The MN DVS calculates registration fees by vehicle class, base value and age. The minimum tax for vehicles 10 years old and older is $35.

The registration fees due with each renewal include the following:

  • Filing fee: $7
  • Technology surcharge: $2.25
  • Wheelage tax fee: $10-$20, if applicable in your county

To better understand the registration tax in Minnesota, use the tax manual tool on the MN DVS website.

Additional Minnesota DVS vehicle registration fees (when applicable):

  • Electric vehicle surcharge: $75
  • Original title fee: $8.25
  • Duplicate title fee: $7.25
  • Duplicate license fee: $17
  • Title transfer fee: $8.25
  • Lien fee: $2
  • Sales tax rate: 6.5%
  • Original title certificate fee: $15
  • Plate fee (single): $13.50
  • Replacement registration ID card fee: $11
  • Replacement tabs fee: $11

To estimate your total Minnesota vehicle registration fees, use the MN Motor Vehicle fee chart.

How useful was this content?

Click on a star to rate it!

Since you found this page useful...

Share it on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Last Verified:
Jul 11, 2022