Mississippi Vehicle Registration Summary
Read our Mississippi Vehicle Registration page to learn about how to register a vehicle with the Mississippi Department of Revenue (DOR), and applying for car registration as a new resident. You can also read about Mississippi registration renewals, duplicate registration, address changes, MS car insurance requirements, and military member registration.
Registering a Vehicle in Mississippi
In Mississippi, you must register your vehicle in person at your local tax collector’s office.
What to bring to the Mississippi DOR:
- Proof of vehicle ownership (vehicle title).
- A limited power of attorney, for leased vehicles.
- A valid driver’s license or ID.
- The vehicle identification number (VIN).
- An odometer reading.
- Proof of a vehicle inspection, if applicable.
- Acceptable form of payment for MS car registration fees and taxes.
Continue reading below for more specific details about how to register a vehicle in Mississippi.
Registering Vehicles Purchased from a Dealership
When you purchase either a new or used vehicle from a licensed Mississippi car dealer, the dealer will normally process your title application and submit the paperwork for you to the MS DOR.
You may also purchase a temporary tag from the dealership so you can operate your vehicle immediately after purchasing.
Vehicles Purchased from a Private Party
Be sure to register any vehicles purchased from a private party within 7 days of the sale date. If you purchased the vehicle in a different county, you have 48 hours to transport it to your residence or place of business. After the grace period, late registration penalties will apply.
The Mississippi DOR does NOT require you to show proof of car insurance upon registration. However, you must carry liability car insurance to operate your vehicle legally.
To register your vehicle in Mississippi please visit your local MS tax collector’s office and present:
- Proof of identification (e.g., a valid MS driver’s license or ID).
- An odometer reading, if applicable.
- Your vehicle identification number (VIN).
- A properly assigned Mississippi title.
- Payment for MS title and registration fees, and any applicable sales tax.
NOTE: The Mississippi DOR links registration to both the vehicle and the owner. If one or the other changes, you must remove the tag and surrender it to your county tax collector.
MS Vehicle Registration for New Residents
New to Mississippi?
NOTE: The Mississippi DOR requires you to transfer your out-of-state title and register your vehicle within 30 days of becoming a MS resident. If you do not register your vehicle within 30 days, the MS DOR will also charge a $250 penalty fee. In addition, you will NOT receive the Legislative Tag Credit if the plates from your previous state expire.
To register your vehicle, visit your local MS county tax collector’s office and present:
- A valid MS driver’s license or ID.
- A completed Application for Mississippi Title and License (Form 78-002).
- NOTE: This form is only available at your county tax collector’s office.
- Proof of ownership (e.g., your vehicle title).
- A limited power of attorney, for leased vehicles.
- Lienholder documentation, if applicable.
- Your current valid out-of-state registration or license plate.
- An odometer disclosure statement.
- Payment for MS car registration, title fees, and taxes.
Registration for Military Drivers
Registration for Non-Residents
The Mississippi DOR does NOT require service members (and their dependents) who are from out of state but stationed in Mississippi to register their vehicles in Mississippi.
Military service members who become a resident of Mississippi must apply for vehicle registration. To qualify for exemption from paying personal vehicle Ad Valorem tax, submit a proof of residency letter issued by your military base office.
See Vehicle Registration for New Residents to learn more.
MS Military Residents
Active duty Mississippi military residents can follow the steps outlined in Registering a Vehicle in Mississippi. Notably, disabled military personnel may be exempt from paying personal vehicle Ad Valorem tax on disabled veteran plates.
To check your eligibility, you must provide verification from the Veterans Affair Board certifying you have a 100% service-related disability.
Mississippi military residents stationed out-of-state may contact the MS DOR for specific instructions on how to obtain Mississippi vehicle registration.
Renewing Your Registration in Mississippi
If the DOR does not send a renewal notice by mail, you must renew your registration in person.
Renew your registration before it expires to avoid a penalty. The penalty for late renewal begins on the 16th day of the month following expiration at the rate of 5% for the next 15 days. Then, an additional penalty will apply for each
To learn more about renewing your Mississippi vehicle registration, see Mississippi Renewals.
Replace a Lost or Damaged MS Registration
If your MS registration card or tags are lost, stolen, or damaged, you may apply for a duplicate in person at your nearest county tax collector’s office.
To replace your Mississippi registration card or tags in person, visit your local tax collector’s office. The MS DOR may ask you to present the following:
- An Affidavit For Support of Credit (Application for Replacement Tag and/or Decal) (Form 76-903).
- A law enforcement officer must complete this form before you visit your local tax collector. The DOR requires this form if your plates/tags were stolen.
- If there is damage on your plate or decal, you must surrender both when applying for replacements.
- Proof of identity (e.g., driver license or ID).
- Your license plate or Vehicle Identification Number (VIN).
- Payment for the $10 replacement plate fee, or $2.50 if you only require the decal.
- There may also be a fee for a replacement registration card.
Changes to Your Mississippi Car Registration
You may change the name and address on your vehicle registration at the Mississippi DOR.
Once you legally change your name with the Social Security office and on your Mississippi driver’s license, you can make changes to your name on your Mississippi vehicle registration.
To change your name on your vehicle registration and title in person, you may visit your local DOR office and bring:
- Your Mississippi driver license.
- A completed Application for Replacement Certificate of Title (Form 78-006).
- Legal documents supporting your name change, such as a:
- Marriage license if the name change is due to marriage.
- Divorce decree.
- Court-ordered name change document.
- Payment for the $9 duplicate title fee.
- Please contact the DOR for duplicate registration fees.
Address Changes on Mississippi Vehicle Registration
You must change your address with the Mississippi DOR in person.
You have 30 days from the time of your move to change your address with the DOR.
Address Changes in Person
To change your address in person, you may visit any county tax office location and bring your:
- Proof of an address change (e.g., your lease, bank statement, utility bill).
- Current registration card.
- Mississippi driver’s license.
- Payment for your duplicate registration card or duplicate title fee.
MS Vehicle Registration Fees
The registration fees and taxes in Mississippi will vary by vehicle type, the value of your vehicle, and the county in which you live.
The DOR will also charge a privilege tax, registration fees, ad valorem taxes, and possibly sales or use tax when you register your vehicle.
MS Vehicle Registration Fees
- First-time passenger vehicle registration: $14
- Renewal passenger vehicle registration: $12.75
- Road and bridge privilege tax:
- Passenger vehicles: $15
- Pick up trucks: $7.20
- Motorcycles: $8
- Original title application fee: $9 ($30 for expedited Fast-Track title service).
- Replacement Mississippi title fee: $9
- Late registration penalty fee: 5% for the first 15 days after expiration, an additional 5% for each additional 30 days with a maximum penalty of 25%.
- Vehicle sales use/tax: 5%
To determine your exact registration fees, please contact your local Mississippi county tax office.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?