If you want to drive in Missouri, you will need to meet the insurance and financial responsibility requirements. It is not legal to drive without meeting these requirements, which protect you and other people on the roads in the case of a collision.
There are a few kinds of insurance that you can have. On top of that, you will need to make sure that you have proof of insurance at all times when you’re driving. Here is more on what you need to know about driving in Missouri and having good insurance coverage.
Minimum Acceptable Auto Insurance in Missouri
In Missouri, you are expected to maintain motor vehicle liability insurance coverage at the very least. This coverage should include:
- $25,000 per person for bodily injury
- $50,000 per accident for bodily injury
- $25,000 per accident for property
By law, you also need to carry an additional policy for uninsured motorist coverage. This should be $50,000 for bodily injuries per collision or $25,000 per person.
Nonresidents of Missouri must maintain insurance that meets the qualifications in their own states.
If you happen to be stopped by a police officer, then the officer may ask for proof of insurance. You should carry your insurance card, in digital form or as a paper card, to be able to present it upon request. If you fail to do so, then you may be issued a ticket during that traffic stop. At that time, the Department of Revenue will also be informed that you do not have proof of insurance. The Department of Revenue is able to request proof of insurance from you at any time.
Required Insurance Documents
There are required insurance documents in Missouri. You will need to fill out an SR-22 form with the state to prove that you have insurance. You may also provide proof of financial responsibility, which you will file with the Department of Revenue.
The proof of financial responsibility can be a:
- Real estate bond
- Deposit of cash or negotiable securities
- Surety bond
If you would like to self-insure your vehicle, Missouri does allow you to do so if you receive a certificate of self-insurance from the Missouri Department of Revenue.
Insurance Cards in Missouri
You need to be able to show that you carry insurance in Missouri. You will report the insurance coverage you have to the state using an SR-22 form, which is required in the case of an auto accident.
Your insurance company may also provide you with a paper copy of your insurance card or a digital app. Both are able to prove that you have insurance if you are involved in a traffic stop.
Reporting Insurance Fraud in Missouri
There are a few ways to report insurance fraud in Missouri. If you’ve become a victim of insurance fraud, you can contact the Missouri Insurance Consumer Hotline at 1-800-726-7390. This is the Consumer Affairs Section of the Missouri Department of Insurance.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?