Traffic Violations in Missouri
Missouri is a busy state, and with so many people there, it’s not surprising when someone is stopped for speeding, drunk driving, reckless driving, or other traffic offenses. Unfortunately, committing a traffic offense in Missouri can cost you your license, raise the cost of your insurance and leave you with heavy fines to pay. Additionally, Missouri uses a points system, so if you get too many points on your license, you could lose your license for one, two or three years.
Missouri Points System
In Missouri, you will lose your license if you accumulate over 8 points on your license within 18 months. Your first suspension will be for 30 days. Subsequent offenses result in a 60-day or 90-day suspension of your license with each additional traffic offense.
However, if you get over 12 points on your license, you will lose your license for a year. If you get over 18, then that increases to 24 months. If you happen to reach 24 points on your license, you’ll lose your license for three years.
How Long Do Points Stay On Your Record?
The state keeps track of your traffic violations for three years (at a minimum). In the case that an offense led to your license being revoked, then that offense will stay on your record for at least five years.
License Suspension and Reinstatement in Missouri
If you would like to get your driving privileges back, then you will need to:
- Determine why it has been suspended or revoked
- Fulfill the requirements listed and fill out forms from this chart
- Provide proof of insurance with an SR-22 form
- Pay the reinstatement fee, which is between $20 and $65
To get your license back, you have to go to this Driver License Bureau location in person:
301 West High Street, Room 470
Jefferson City, Missouri
Alternatively, you may be able to mail in the forms and reinstatement fee to:
Jefferson City, Missouri
If you have access online, you may also pay your reinstatement fee through the MyDMV application. If you choose to pay the fee online, you can use credit or debit cards to do so. The accepted cards are Visa, MasterCard, American Express, and Discover. There is a convenience fee of up to 2.15% of the transaction for transactions through the MyDMV application, but most fees for reinstatements are between $1.25 and $1.75.
If you get a traffic citation and choose to plead guilty, then you will need to pay a traffic fine. The state allows you to pay in person, by mail or online, but it depends on which county you were in when the offense was committed. You will need to check the ticket to find out how you can handle the fees. If you don’t respond within 30 days, then you could have your license suspended for failing to respond.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?