• Find DMV Offices
  • Find Service Providers

Missouri Vehicle Registration

Home 9 US State 9 Missouri DMV Services 9 Missouri Vehicle Registration
( people found this content useful.) 12 min read

MO Vehicle Registration Summary

On our Missouri Vehicle Registration page, you’ll find information about how to register a vehicle with the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR). In addition, learn how to register a car as a new Missouri resident, plus details on MO registration renewal, duplicate registration, replacements & changes, auto insurance requirements, and military member registration.

Registering a Vehicle in Missouri

You must register your vehicle through the Missouri Department of Revenue (DOR). Below is a quick summary of items to bring when visiting your local Missouri DOR office. What to bring to the MO DOR:
  • Proof of identity (e.g., driver’s license, ID, or passport).
  • Proof of Indiana car insurance.
  • Emissions compliance receipt, if applicable.
  • Odometer disclosure statement.
  • Proof of vehicle ownership (e.g., vehicle title).
  • Acceptable form of payment for your MO car registration fees and taxes.
Continue reading for more more details about how to register a vehicle in Missouri.

Registering Vehicles Purchased from an MO Dealer

When you purchase either a new or used vehicle from a licensed Missouri car dealer, they will issue a Temporary Permit. With this permit, you may operate the vehicle while you wait for your license plates to arrive. You can also purchase a Missouri Temporary Permit from your local DOR licensing office. IMPORTANT TO NOTE
  • The Missouri DOR issues temporary permits for a period of 30 days from the purchase date. You’ll have 30 days to title and register your vehicle from the date of purchase.
  • If you do not title and register your vehicle within that time frame, the DOR will apply a $25 titling penalty. The penalty increases by $25 for every 30 days you are late.
After you have purchased your temporary permit, visit a DOR licensing office to register your vehicle. The registration process is the same whether you purchased your vehicle from a dealer or a private party. See Vehicles Purchased from a Private Party for specific instructions.

Vehicles Purchased from a Private Party

In Missouri, you must register and transfer the title of your vehicle within 30 days from the purchase date. To register in person, visit your local Missouri DOR licensing office and present:

MO Vehicle Registration for New Residents

New to Missouri?

The Missouri DOR requires you to apply for a Missouri title and vehicle registration within 30 days of establishing residency to avoid any penalties.

As a new resident, you must take certain steps before you can register your vehicle. The Missouri DOR requires you to:

MO Registration for Military Drivers

Missouri military residents who currently reside in the state can register their vehicles as normal. See Registering a Vehicle in Missouri above to learn more.

Registration for MO Residents Stationed Outside Missouri

To register your vehicle as a Missouri resident stationed outside of the state, submit all of the following documents and payment by mail:

  • A properly assigned vehicle title OR Certificate of Origin.
  • A completed Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108).
  • A Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) and odometer inspection.
    • The inspection can be in the form of a signed statement from a commissioned officer of the United States Armed Forces. The officer will verify the vehicle’s identification number (VIN) and odometer reading.
  • A General Affidavit (Form 768) stating the vehicle’s location was out of state for more than 60 days.
  • Proof of car insurance.
  • A statement of non-assessment from your Missouri county of residence.
  • Payment for MO car registration, titling fees and taxes.

Mail all of the above to:

Missouri Department of Revenue
Harry S. Truman State Office Building
301 West High Street
Jefferson City, MO 65101

Registration for Non-Residents

The MO DOR does NOT require non-resident military service members stationed in Missouri to register their vehicles in state.

Missouri military personnel must maintain current registration and car insurance from their home state during deployment. If a military service member becomes a resident of Missouri, he or she must apply for Missouri car registration.

See Vehicle Registration for New Residents to learn more.

Renewing Your Registration in Missouri

In Missouri, you can renew your vehicle registration online, in person, by phone or by mail. Depending on whether you are a Missouri resident or a resident temporarily residing outside Missouri, you will have different requirements for renewing your registration. You may renew your Missouri registration up to 6 months before the expiration. Please note, you must renew your registration by the last day of the expiration month.

IMPORTANT NOTES

  • The Missouri DOR mails your renewal notices before your registration expiration. However, if you do not receive your renewal notice you can still renew your vehicle by completing an Application for Motor Vehicle License (Form 184).
  • You must renew your Missouri vehicle registration annually. However some vehicles have a registration option for 2 years.
  • Even if you did not receive a renewal notice in the mail, you must still renew your registration before it expires.
See Missouri Registration Renewals to learn more.

Replace Lost or Damaged Registration

If your Missouri registration card or tabs are lost, stolen, or damaged, you can apply for a replacement by mail, or in person at your local Missouri licensing office.

Replacements By Mail

To replace your MO registration card by mail, download,print and complete a Request for Receipt of Title or Registration (Form 2519). Mail your completed and notarized form with payment to:

Motor Vehicle Bureau
P.O. Box 2048
Jefferson City, MO 65105

NOTE: Make your check payable to the Missouri Department of Revenue.

Replace Registration In Person

To replace your Missouri registration card or decals in person, visit your local MO licensing office and present:

Change Your Missouri Car Registration

Name Changes

Before you can make changes to your Missouri registration documents, you must first change your name with the Social Security Administration (SSA). Once you complete your name change with SSA, you can make changes to your name with the Missouri DOR.

To change a name on your vehicle registration in person at the MO DOR, be ready to provide:

  • Legal documents supporting your name change, such as a:
    • Marriage license, if you changed your name due to marriage.
    • Divorce decree.
    • Court-ordered name change document.
  • A completed Application for Missouri Title and License (Form 108).
  • Your Social Security Number (SSN).
  • Your date of birth.
  • Your current title.
  • Payment for the $14.50 duplicate title fee.

NOTE: The MO DOR system will automatically update your registration when you update your title.

Address Changes

You may change your address with the Missouri DOR online, or in person, or by mail.

Online Address Change in Missouri

To change your mailing address online, visit the Missouri DOR online services portal.

Follow the prompts and be ready to submit the following:

  • Your Missouri license or ID number.
  • Your vehicle VIN.
  • The last 4 digits of your social security number.
  • Your previous and current address information.
  • Vehicle year, make and model.
  • Payment for duplicate license and/or registration fees.

Once complete, the Missouri DOR system will update your new mailing address on your registration.If you choose to order replacement documents, additional fees will apply.

Address Changes in Person or by Mail

To change your address in person, complete an Address Change Request (Form 5805). Then you may either visit a MO licensing office to submit your form or you mail it to the address listed on the form.

Missouri Vehicle Registration Fees

Missouri Vehicle Registration Fees

The Missouri DOR determines passenger vehicle registration fees by your vehicle’s taxable horsepower (HP), and s truck registration fees by vehicle weight.

You can find your vehicle’s taxable horsepower on your vehicle title or your Application for Missouri Title and Registration.

Current Missouri’s registration fees for passenger vehicles:

  • 12-23 taxable HP: $21.25
  • 24-35 taxable HP: $24.25
  • 36-47 taxable HP: $33.25
  • 48-59 taxable HP: $39.25
  • 0-71 taxable HP: $45.25
  • 72 and above taxable HP: $51.25
  • Trucks 6,000 pounds: $15.75
  • Trucks 12,000 pounds: $18.25
  • Vehicle registration processing fee: $6 (Add this fee to all base registration fees).
  • Title application fee: $8.50
  • Replacement Missouri title fee: $14.50
  • Plate transfer fee: $8
  • Replacement registration card fee: $14.50
  • Temporary Permit fee: $11
  • Vehicle sales use/tax: 4.225% plus local sales tax assessed by your county.

For a complete listing of Missouri’s vehicle registration fees, visit the Missouri DOR website.

How useful was this content?

Click on a star to rate it!

Since you found this page useful...

Share it on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Last Verified:
Aug 24, 2022