According to the Montana Department of Justice Department of Motor Vehicles, Montana drivers must have liability insurance with personal injury protection.
Basic Auto Insurance
According to Montana Code, the basic auto insurance that you need to have is:
- $25,000 bodily injury to or death of one person in any one accident and subject to the limit for one person;
- $50,000 bodily injury to or death of two or more persons in any one accident; and
- $20,000 injury to or destruction of property of others in any one accident.
The state uses the Montana Insurance Verification System (MTIVS) to ensure that vehicles registered in the state and that are part of traffic stops have the minimum insurance.
Most insurers have standard and basic policies. Standard policies cost more but may provide additional benefits such as :
- Collision coverage
- Comprehensive coverage
- Bodily injury liability coverage
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
Basic auto insurance will meet the state requirements for liability coverage and can be purchased through any Montana licensed insurance provider.
Required Insurance Documents
It is important to carry your insurance card on you either electronically or in paper form. The care should list your company’s address and information on the agency issuing the card and list your vehicle as being covered. On the back, there should be information about filing information about where medical providers can contact the company to let it know that the owner of the card is receiving medical treatment.
Your Insurance Card
Your insurance card has to be provided in paper or digital form upon request. You may need to present the card:
- If you are stopped by a police officer during a spot check
- If you are stopped for a traffic violation
- When you’re involved in a crash
- Before a vehicle inspection
If you don’t present the card, then you could be fined. Additionally, if you fail to carry insurance, then you could have your license suspended, be subject to insurance surcharges, be fined, be required to complete community service, or be put in jail.
Insurance fraud is taken seriously in Montana. Fraud occurs when consumers file fraudulent claims or misrepresent information. It also can occur if brokers or agents are not licensed but selling insurance in the state. The Commissioner of Securities and Insurance estimates that consumer fraud adds an average of $200 to $300 a year to the average family’s insurance premiums. Those convicted of insurance fraud can face fines and be required to pay restitution to all those who suffered financial losses.
How to Report Fraud to the State
If you suspect someone you know is committing fraud, Montana law requires that you report it. You can do so by filling out a form and mailing it to Troy Downing; Commissioner of Securities & Insurance; Montana State Auditor; 840 Helena Ave. Helena, MT 59601. Those who prefer can also report the fraud by phoning the hotline at 800-332-6148.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?