The Nebraska Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) maintains driving records on licensed individual residing in the state. those driving records are available for respective drivers and for others when needed for legitimate reasons, like conducting a job applicant’s background check. The following information helps Nebraska drivers to better understand how their driving records are used and how they can obtain copies.
How to Obtain Your Nebraska Driving Record
Individuals can obtain copies of their respective personal driving records in two ways. The easiest is to submit an online driver’s license search application through the DMV’s website. You can enter your driver’s license number or Social Security number, plus your first and last name and date of birth. The online service charges a $7.50 fee that you can pay with a credit card or a debit card. The online search only allows a single inquiry.
Applying to Get the Driving Record
You also can download, print and complete a Copy of Driving Record application online at the DMV website and either mail it to the indicated address along with the fee or turn it in at a local DMV service center. Because the records are personal records of individual driving histories, anyone asking for someone else’s driving record must meet the provisions of the Federal Driver’s Privacy Protection Act and the Nebraska Uniform Motor Vehicle Records Disclosure Act.
The federal and state acts protect the driving history records as private information but make them available to others under qualifying conditions laid out in the respective statutes. Those who meet the acts’ respective qualifications for exempted uses can obtain records that include names, addresses, driver’s license numbers, vehicle titles, and vehicle license plate numbers.
The records often are used in criminal investigations, by federal or state agencies, and by legitimate businesses that need to affirm individual’s driving privileges and general histories.
You will need to provide your driver’s license number and current address whenever requesting your own driving record. Those requesting the records of others must submit an application for multiple driving records so long as they meet qualifying criteria to request multiple driving records. A separate feel applies for each driving record requested and must be paid in advance.
Fees for Getting Your Driving Record and Payment Methods
The DMV charges a flat $7.50 fee for every legitimate driver history record request that it receives. The fee is payable with a personal check, money order, cashier’s check or a credit card or debit card. The DMV never accepts cash payments.
Types of Driver Records
Nebraska maintains three types of driver records that only vary in the lengths of time covered. A 5-year record is what insurers and employers often obtain to establish car insurance rates and affirm job applicants’ driving privileges. A complete driver history also is available but mostly goes to respective individuals.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?