Liability insurance protects other people against the costs of property damage and injuries that might occur if you cause an accident while driving. Nebraska law requires motorists to carry minimum amounts of auto insurance protection and has other laws in place designed to protect the innocent and prevent lawsuits from tying up state courts. The following is a closer look at Nebraska’s insurance requirements for residents.
Basic Auto Insurance
All vehicle owners must carry minimum levels of auto liability insurance coverage or risk being fined and possibly lose driving privileges if tickets for driving an uninsured vehicle. Nebraska drivers must carry a minimum of:
- $25,000 per person in bodily injury liability coverage.
- $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability coverage.
- $25,000 in property damage coverage per accident.
Those coverages are the bare minimums allowed to drive on Nebraska roads. Motorists can carry higher amounts but not less, and insurance companies will not underwrite policies for non-compliant levels of liability protection in Nebraska.
Required Insurance Documents
Whenever driving an insured vehicle, you must carry proof of insurance that shows the vehicle, its owner’s name and the amounts of insurance and the dates the insurance is in force. The proof of insurance will include the name of the vehicle’s owner, the address where the vehicle is parked, and its make, model, year and VIN number.
Your Insurance Card
Most insurers provide a wallet-sized card that drivers can use to present to police officers as proof of insurance. The insurance cards also make it easier to share necessary information with other motorists as needed following an accident or other insurable event. The insurance card lists the same information required on insurance documents to affirm the lawful amounts of insurance and the dates the policy is in effect.
Insurance fraud occurs whenever an individual or others lie about the circumstances leading up to or the costs arising from an insured event. Insurance companies also can engage in insurance fraud by selling policies that are unlawful or by refusing to meet their obligations as outlined in an insurance contract..
Insurance fraud costs most adults in the United States more than $800 annually in additional premiums paid to cover the costs of insurance fraud. Insurance fraud is a crime in Nebraska that could rise to a felony punishable by fines and imprisonment. The Nebraska Department of Insurance investigates reports of fraud in Nebraska and has the legal authority to make arrests and prosecute offenders.
How to Report Fraud to the State
The Nebraska Department of Insurance has an Insurance Fraud Prevention Division that is charged with enforcing insurance-related laws in the state. That includes investigating reports of insurance fraud.
Anyone who is aware of insurance fraud or suspects it can report the matter to the Insurance Fraud Prevention Division. They can do so by calling 402-471-2201, sending an email or mailing their concerns to the Insurance Fraud Division at 1135 M Street, Suite 300; Lincoln, NE 68508-3639.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?