Minimum Acceptable Auto Insurance in Nevada
Nevada requires all drivers to have insurance. The minimum they may carry is liability insurance.
Liability insurance covers any damage or injuries caused in a collision that the driver is responsible for. Nevada drivers need to carry policies with these minimums:
- $25,000 in bodily injury per person
- $50,000 of bodily injury per collision
- $20,000 in coverage for property damage
Although these are the minimums, you have the option of getting insurance that covers more than this. In fact, that’s usually advisable, because in a serious collision, having better coverage protects you and anyone else more than a liability-only policy.
Required Insurance Documents
Living in Nevada, you must carry your insurance card at all times. This is also required when you register your vehicle, so you should keep it with your Certificate of Registration inside your vehicle. If you are living in Nevada, remember that out-of-state insurance policies will not be accepted. Usually, law enforcement in Nevada will accept electronic proof of insurance.
Insurance Cards in Nevada
Typically printed insurance cards aren’t as common as they used to be. Today, you are not required to carry a card as proof of insurance. A digital copy will do in most circumstances. You may want to keep a copy of your card, though, with your registration in your vehicle. That way, it’s easy to find and access if you’re stopped by the police.
When you apply for new registration or change your insurance coverage, you need to let the DMV know about the insurance you’re carrying currently. Present your insurance card to the DMV immediately when you apply to register your vehicle. If you change your insurance, contact the DMV. You can contact the DMV online or by phone, there is no need to go to see an agent in person for an insurance change.
Reporting Insurance Fraud in Nevada
Car insurance fraud is a serious crime. If someone doesn’t have insurance and causes a crash, then the victims may not be able to collect compensation. This puts a heavy strain on those victims as well as those who carry insurance and who may have higher policy costs as a result of fraudulent activities.
If you know that someone is committing insurance fraud in Nevada, then you need to report it to the National Insurance Crime Bureau at 1 (800) 835-6422. You can also reach out to the Nevada Insurance Fraud Unit by calling:
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?