Traffic Violations Overview
If you are stopped and ticketed for speeding or other traffic violations, then you may need to go to court or pay fines. The fines that you will pay for traffic tickets vary based on where you were in Nevada when you were ticketed. Failing to pay your fines on time can lead to losing your license with a license suspension.
Demerit points may go on your license for each traffic offense you get. If you get too many demerit points, 12 in 12 months, then you will have your license suspended. Sometimes, you can have it reinstated sooner than a year by taking special courses.
Nevada Points System
Once you’re convicted of a traffic violation, the Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles has the option of placing demerit points on your license. The number of points that you’ll receive on your license depends on which offense was committed.
With the demerit point system, you could get:
- 8 points for reckless driving
- 4 points for failing to yield to someone else’s right-of-way
- 2 points for impeding traffic
- 2 points for speeding 11-20 mph over the limit
Traffic offenses range from 1 to 8 points each. If you reach 12 points within a 12-month period, you’ll lose your license.
How Long Points Last
Demerit points last 12 months from the date of conviction. The convictions themselves will remain on your record permanently.
You can have some demerit points removed by completing a DMV-approved traffic safety course so long as you are not completing the course as a part of a plea bargain. You can have up to three points removed by taking the safety course.
License Suspension and Reinstatement
If you commit violations worth 12 points or more in a 12-month period, then you will lose your license. Reinstatement isn’t automatic, though. You will need to follow the DMV’s reinstatement procedures, even if the violations were reduced or dismissed in court.
Keep in mind that the state cannot issue you a driver’s license if you have another revocation or suspension from another state.
To reinstate your license, you will need to pay reinstatement fees of up to $120.
After getting a traffic ticket, you need to pay the fees associated with it or go to court to dispute it.
If you’re going to pay the fine, then you can pay:
- By phone
- By mail
- Through MoneyGram
- In person
You also have the option to enter a not guilty plea and to fight the traffic ticket. To do this, you may need to go to court on an arraignment date. There may also be other requirements, and you may want to hire an attorney.
If you need to pay for reinstatement fees, the cost is:
- $120 for alcohol or controlled substances offenses
- $35 for the victim impact fee with an alcohol or controlled substance offense
- $75 for all other offenses
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?