According to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, drivers in New Jersey are required to have liability insurance with personal injury protection. You may also have to add on uninsured motorist coverage, so you’re protected if another person hits you and doesn’t have insurance.
The Texas Department of Insurance requires that you have liability insurance. This is one way that you can show proof that you can pay for any accidents that are your fault. In the event that you still owe money on your car in Texas, your lender will require that you have comprehensive and collision coverage in addition to liability coverage. You can add uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage to protect yourself if you’re hit by someone without insurance or with insufficient insurance to pay your car repair and medical bills.
Basic Auto InsuranceAccording to the State of New Jersey Department of Banking & Insurance, the basic auto insurance that you need to have is:
- $5,000 of property damage liability
- $15,000 of personal injury protection per person, per accident (up to $250,000 for some injuries)
- Collision coverage
- Comprehensive coverage
- Bodily injury liability coverage
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
Required Insurance DocumentsIt is important to carry your insurance card on you. The required document should be issued as a paper copy and be available for each vehicle on your policy. The identification card must:
- Be printed on white cardstock of at least 20 pounds in weight
- Be at least three inches by five inches and 5.5 by 8.5 inches
- Have your insurance company’s name, your name and address, the effective date, the expiration date, your vehicle’s description, the policy number and the heading “State of New Jersey: Insurance Identification Card.” The card should also have the insurance company’s address and information on the agency issuing the card. On the back, there should be information about filing information about where medical providers can contact the company to let it know that the owner of the card is receiving medical treatment.
Your Insurance CardYour insurance card has to be provided in paper or digital form upon request. You may need to present the card:
- If you are stopped by a police officer during a spot check
- If you are stopped for a traffic violation
- When you’re involved in a crash
- Before a vehicle inspection
Insurance FraudInsurance fraud is taken seriously in New Jersey. Insurance fraud, which includes providing falsified information to your insurance company when submitting an application or making a claim, could result in:
- Up to $15,000 in fines
- A jail or prison sentence
- The loss of your driver license
How to Report Fraud to the StateIf you suspect someone you know is committing fraud, you can report it to the state Office of Insurance Fraud Prosecutor online, by email or by calling (877) 55-Fraud. Fraud makes insurance rates higher for everyone in New Jersey, which is why it’s important to report it. Those tips are confidential and kept anonymous.
Minimum Acceptable Auto Insurance in TexasAs far as liability coverage goes, you must have at least $30,000 of coverage for injuries to another person, up to $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 of coverage for property damage. You can refer to this sort of coverage as 30/60/25 coverage. Liability coverage, comprehensive coverage, and collision coverage are three common types of basic auto insurance coverage. The other five types of basic auto insurance coverage in Texas are:
- Medical payments coverage
- Personal injury protection coverage
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
- Towing and labor coverage
- Rental reimbursement coverage
Required Insurance DocumentsYou should always carry your auto insurance card on you. This auto insurance card should contain the policy number, insurance company’s phone number, insurance company’s physical address, and your own name and phone number. It should also contain the heading “State of Texas- Insurance Identification Card”. This card should also list the make and models of all vehicles it covers as well as the policy’s effective and expiration dates. All Texas drivers are legally required to carry liability insurance. If they don’t, they can face a $1,000 fine, suspension of their driver’s license and registration in addition to impoundment of their vehicle for a maximum of 180 days.
Insurance Cards in TexasYou must show your insurance card in Texas when you apply for or renew your motor vehicle registration. You also have to show your insurance card if you are applying for or renewing your driver’s license or motor vehicle safety inspection sticker. If you have an accident or an officer asks to see your insurance card, you will have to show it then, as well. Insurance cards in Texas may be in either English or Spanish. If it is only in English, you must include a section in Spanish with instructions for the reader and the insurance agent’s contact information. It is optional to include the insurance agent’s email address.
Reporting Insurance Fraud in TexasInsurance fraud is a significant issue in Texas like in many other states. In addition to all of its other negative effects, insurance fraud increases insurance rates in the state of Texas. You can report anyone committing insurance fraud to the Texas Department of Insurance Fraud Unit. You can report insurance fraud online or call the TDI’s Help Line at 800-252-3439. If the insurance fraud involves Medicare, Medicaid, or health care discount programs, report it to the Texas Attorney General’s Consumer Protection Hot Line at 800-621-0508.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?