• Find DMV Offices
  • Find Service Providers

New Jersey Vehicle Registration

Home 9 US State 9 New Jersey DMV Services 9 New Jersey Vehicle Registration
( people found this content useful.)

New Jersey Vehicle Registration Summary

On our New Jersey Vehicle Registration page, you’ll find information about how to register a vehicle with the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission, car registration for new residents, registration renewals in New Jersey, vehicle inspections, registration replacements & changes, registering a vehicle purchased from an individual versus new from a dealership, NJ auto insurance requirements, and NJ military member registration.

Registering a Vehicle in New Jersey

You must register your vehicle through the NJ MVC in person. Below you will find the requirements for registering your vehicle in New Jersey. The process varies depending on whether you have purchased the vehicle from a New Jersey car dealer or from a private-party seller, and whether you are a current resident or new to New Jersey.
What to bring to the NJ MVC:
  • Proof of vehicle ownership (vehicle title).
  • A valid driver’s license or ID.
  • A completed Vehicle Registration Application Form (Form BA-49).
  • Proof of New Jersey car insurance.
  • Proof of vehicle ownership (vehicle title).
  • Odometer reading, if applicable.
  • Acceptable form of payment for NJ car registration fees and taxes.
NOTE: Be sure to schedule an appointment. The NJ MVC does NOT allow walk-ins. Continue reading below for more specific details about how to register a vehicle in New Jersey.

NJ Vehicle Registration for New Residents

New to New Jersey?

New Jersey law requires that you transfer your vehicle title within 60 days of becoming a NJ resident. To register your vehicle you’ll first need to make an appointment for a New Title or Registration, and then visit your nearest NJ MVC agency. Be sure to present the following:
  • A completed Vehicle Registration Application Form (Form BA-49).
  • A completed Universal Title Application (Form OS/SS-UTA).
  • Proof of identification (e.g., a valid NJ driver’s license).
    • If you don’t have a NJ driver’s license you must present “6 Points of ID”. Some of these documents include:
      • Social security card.
      • Valid out-of-state driver’s license.
      • Health insurance card.
      • Bank statement.
      • State professional license.
  • Your social security number.
  • Proof of ownership via the original title.
  • If an out-of-state lienholder owns the vehicle, you’ll need to complete an Auto Title Lien Release (Form OS/ SS-54).
    • Your lienholder will then send the title to the NJ MVC. The DMV will notify you when you can complete the process.
  • A vehicle odometer reading.
  • Payment for NJ car registration, title transfer fees, and taxes.
    • The current title transfer fee for a standard vehicle is $60. The DMV determines registration fees by vehicle age and weight.
NOTE: You must get a vehicle inspection at a NJ MVC approved inspection station within 14 days of processing your registration application.

Registering Vehicles Purchased from a NJ Dealer

When you purchase either a new or used vehicle from a licensed NJ car dealership, they will handle the title and registration process for you. Your dealer will submit all necessary documents to the NJ MVC on your behalf, and include the sales tax in the price of the vehicle. You can view more information on our Buying a Vehicle in New Jersey page.

Vehicles Purchased from a Private Party

In New Jersey, if you purchase a vehicle from an individual you must register it within 10 days from the date of purchase. Otherwise, you must pay a $25 late fee. To register your vehicle in New Jersey, please visit your local NJ MVC office and present:
  • A completed Vehicle Registration Application (Form BA-49).
  • Proof of your social security number.
  • Proof of identification (a valid NJ driver’s license).
    • If you don’t have a NJ driver’s license you must present “6 Points of ID”.
  • Proof of vehicle insurance or the policy number and name of the insurance company.
  • The vehicle title, properly assigned from the seller to the buyer, including the seller’s driver license number.
    • Please complete the sales tax section on the back of the title.
  • A vehicle odometer reading.
    • If you do not provide an odometer reading within 10 days of registration, you must pay a $25 late fee.
  • Proof of inspection if applicable. New Jersey requires vehicle inspections once every two years (with the exception of new vehicles).
  • Payment for NJ title and registration fees, and the applicable sales tax.

Transferring your New Jersey Plates and Registration

When you change vehicles in New Jersey, you can transfer your old plates to the new vehicle if:
  • The vehicle is registered in the same name as the previous vehicle.
  • AND
  • The vehicles are in the same class.
There is a $4.50 fee for this transaction. Please contact your local NJ MVC office if you have any specific questions. NOTE: If you sell a vehicle and do not transfer its plates to another vehicle, you must surrender the old plates to the NJ MVC.

New Jersey Vehicle Inspections

New Jersey requires all vehicles to go through an inspection every 2 years unless the vehicle is new. If your vehicle is new, the MVC does not require an inspection until the vehicle is 5 years old. You can get a vehicle inspection up to 2 months before the inspection is set to expire. You can find the inspection expiration date on your windshield sticker. Please bring the following items to your NJ inspection station:
  • Driver license.
  • Proof of New Jersey insurance.
  • Vehicle registration.
If you are a new resident, you must get a vehicle inspection within 14 days of registration. If your vehicle is less than 5 years old, you will receive a “green card” (Form SS-19 ) upon registration, which you must present at the inspection station. The NJ MVC requires a yearly inspection on some vehicles, such as:
  • Ambulances.
  • Hotel buses.
  • Limousines.
  • Taxicabs.

NJ Registration for Military Drivers

New Jersey provides special considerations for active duty military personnel with registration and inspection requirements. Your registration options will depend on whether you are a NJ resident or an out-of-state resident stationed in New Jersey.

Registration for Non-Residents

The NJ MVC does NOT require service members who are stationed in New Jersey (but reside in another state) to register their vehicles in New Jersey. As NJ military personnel, you must maintain current registration and car insurance from your home state. If you become a resident of the state, you will need to apply for NJ car registration. Please refer to the section above, Vehicle Registration for New Residents.

NJ Residents Stationed Out-of-State

Upon deployment, the NJ MVC allows automatic extensions on driver license, registration and inspection requirements for all active duty military members and their immediate families. Your license, registration and inspection documents will remain valid for the entire period of deployment, and 90 days thereafter. You must carry an Administrative Order along with your active duty military credentials at all times when operating a vehicle.

Registration Refunds

If you are an active duty military who is deployed out of state and opts to register your vehicle in that state, you are eligible to receive a refund on the remaining time you have left on your NJ registration. Below is the process to receive your refund:
  • Mail a letter to the NJ MVC explaining the reason you are requesting a refund.
  • Provide a copy of proof of service.
  • Submit a completed Refund Application (Form RU-9).
  • Along with your letter, you must return your original registration, your New Jersey license plates, plus a copy of your military orders and a copy of your out-of-state registration.
Please mail everything to the address on your Refund Application form.

Service Disabled Veterans

Certain disabled veterans may qualify for free registration by meeting this criteria:
  • You are visually impaired as a result of war service.
  • You have another service-connected disability and qualify for a free automobile through the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs. In this case, you must:
    • Have a valid driver’s license.
    • Your vehicle has accessible equipment for those with disabilities.
    • Have valid car insurance.
To apply for free registration, please visit your local NJ MVC or call 609-292-6500 extension 5076 to request an application. Upon receiving one, you can mail your completed application to:  
New Jersey Motor Vehicle CommissionGovernment Unit P.O. Box 016 Trenton, New Jersey 08666-0016

Renewing Your Registration in New Jersey

Registration renewals are sent out 3 months before your current expiration expires. In New Jersey, you can renew your vehicle registration online, in person, or by mail. NOTE: If you qualify for NJ online vehicle registration, you must renew online.

Online Registration Renewals in NJ

To renew your NJ vehicle registration online, visit the NJ MVC’s online registration renewal portal. Before you begin your renewal, you must have the following:
  • A NJ registration renewal notice.
  • Your Social Security number.
  • Your personal identification number (9 digit PIN) found in the bottom right hand corner of your NJ registration renewal notice.
    • If you lost your NJ registration renewal notice, you can request a new PIN via the MVC’s registration renewal PIN lookup, if you are still within the renewal window. To retrieve your PIN you must provide the following information:
      • The plate number of your vehicle.
      • The drivers license/ID number of the vehicle owner.
  • Your insurance company name and policy number.
  • Payment information for NJ registration renewal fees.
Once you complete the process, your registration renewal is effective immediately. The NJ MVC will mail your new registration within 7-14 days.

NJ Registration Renewals by Mail

To renew your NJ vehicle registration by mail, please complete both the front and back of your renewal notice. You can then mail it along with your fees (shown on your notice) with the provided return envelope. If you do not have your NJ renewal notice or did not receive one, you must renew online. Please follow the steps in the Online Registration Renewals in NJ section above to request a new PIN. NOTE: Allow at least one week for processing and 7-14 days to receive your documents in the mail.

Registration Renewals In Person

If you are ineligible to renew your registration online, you must make an appointment to renew in person at your local NJ MVC agency and bring:
  • Your registration renewal notice or vehicle identification number (VIN).
  • Your insurance company name and policy number.
  • A completed Vehicle Registration Application (Form BA-49).
  • License plate number.
  • Proof of identification or “6 Points of ID” if you don’t have a valid NJ driver’s license.
  • Payment for the amount indicated on your renewal notice.

Replace a Lost or Damaged Registration

NJ Registration Replacements Online

If your NJ registration card has been lost, stolen, or damaged, you can apply for a duplicate online or in person at your nearest NJ MVC office. NOTE: You must replace your NJ registration online, if you are eligible for an online replacement. To replace your NJ registration online, be ready to provide the following:
  • Vehicle identification number (VIN).
  • A valid identification/ID.
  • Your vehicle plate number.
  • Your email address.
  • Your insurance company name and policy number.
  • Payment for the $5 replacement fee.
The MVC will mail your duplicate New Jersey registration card to you in 7-14 days.

Registration Replacements In Person

To replace your NJ registration card in person, you’ll need to present the following during your visit:

Registration Replacements For Leased Vehicles

To replace a lost registration for a leased vehicle in New Jersey, you will have to contact your leasing company to get legal permission to obtain a duplicate registration via a Power of Attorney (POA). Your POA must include the following information:
  • The name of the lessee.
  • Authorization for lessee to sign the renewal application.
  • Year, make, model, and VIN of the vehicle.
You must then visit the NJ DMV and present:

Changes to Your NJ Car Registration

Name Changes on NJ Registration

You can make changes to your name on your NJ vehicle registration by visiting the NJ MCV in person and presenting:
  • Your original registration card or title.
  • The original (or certified copies) legal documents supporting your name change such as a:
    • Marriage License, if the name change is due to marriage.
    • Divorce Decree.
    • Another court-ordered name change document.
  • Payment for the $60 title fee and $5 registration duplicate fee.

Address Changes on NJ Vehicle Registration

You can change your address with the NJ DMV online, or in person. The MVC requires to you change your address online. If for some reason you cannot change online, you must visit your nearest NJ DMV location. Please note, changing your address online does not update the information on your NJ registration documents. If you need a new registration document that reflects your new address, you must order a duplicate. See Replace a Lost or Damaged Registration above.
Online Address Change in New Jersey
To change your address online, please visit the NJ MCV website’s address change portal. To begin the process you will need:
  • A current driver’s license.
  • Your social security number
  • A valid email address.
You can print your confirmation once you complete your online transaction.
Address Changes in Person
To change your addressin person, please visit any NJ MVC office and bring your primary ID document or “6 points of ID” and proof of address. If you request an updated registration ID card, there is a $5 replacement fee. There is no fee should you not require a replacement card.

Vehicle Registration Fees in NJ

In New Jersey, vehicle registration fees depend on the age and weight of the vehicle. You must renew your registration annually. If you are registering a new or leased vehicle, the NJ MVC will require an extended registration of 4 years. Please visit the MVC registration fee calculator to determine what your initial registration fees. Below are some of the initial registration fees for a standard vehicle:
  • Titling fee: $60.00
  • Titling fee for a vehicle with a single lien: $85.00
  • Replacement registration ID card fee: $5.00
  • Registration transfer fee: $4.50
  • Sales tax – You must pay 6.625% sales tax on all vehicle sales, new or used.

New Jersey Vehicle Registration Fees

Registration fees for passenger vehicles depend on vehicle and weight. Here are some of the current fees:
  • Passenger vehicles older than 2 years and over 3,500 pounds: $71.
  • Passenger vehicles within 2 years and over 3,500 pounds: $84.
  • Passenger vehicles within 2 years and under 3,500 pounds: $59.
  • Passenger vehicles older than 2 years and under 3,500 pounds: $46
  • Passenger vehicles 1970 or older 2,700- 3,800 pounds: $44.50
  • Motorcycles: $65.
For a complete list of registration fees in New Jersey, you may visit the NJ MVC website.

How useful was this content?

Click on a star to rate it!

Since you found this page useful...

Share it on social media!

We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!

Let us improve this post!

Tell us how we can improve this post?

Last Verified:
Jun 14, 2022