Testing and Preparing to DriveIf you want to get your license in North Carolina, you’ll have to pass the test. If you are 18 or older, you may take the tests directly and receive your license. If you are ages 15 to 17, you’ll need to go through the graduated license program. Either way, you’ll have to take tests such as:
- Vision tests, which require at least 20/40 vision
- Knowledge tests, which require knowledge of the state’s laws and driving acuity
- Road tests, which monitor you driving, stopping at the appropriate signs, sitting, turning, parallel parking, yielding, and completing other driving actions
Graduated Driver LicenseNorth Carolina requires that teens 15 to 17 complete a Graduated Driver License Program. The program has four steps: limited learner permit, limited provisional license, a full provisional license, and, finally, a basic license. Drivers may receive their limited learner permit if they are 15, have completed a driver training course, and are still in school and making progress toward graduation or a GED. The driver training course must include:
- 30 hours of classroom training and an eye exam
- At least six hours of behind-the-wheel training
Remedial Driver ProgramsNCDMV offers Driver Improvement Clinics. The clinics are for those who have accumulated four points on an eight-point scale or seven points on a 12-point scale. Points are given for driving infractions. Drivers may have three points removed from their record for attending the program and hearing. Drivers can attend the clinics once every five years. The fee for attending the clinic is $70, and the fee for the hearing is $40.
Defensive Driving CoursesDefensive driving courses are voluntary and are offered through several private vendors. They don’t remove points from your license, but some insurance companies will offer a discount to drivers that have completed the course.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?