According to the North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles, drivers in North Carolina are required to have liability insurance with at least minimal personal injury, property damage coverage, and uninsured motorist coverage. Uninsured motorist coverage protects you if another person hits you and doesn’t have insurance.
Insurance companies are required to report to the NCDMV if your insurance is canceled or lapses. NCDMV will send a notice to you if they receive a report of lapsed coverage from your insurance company. If you don’t remedy the problem within 10 days, your vehicle license plates may be revoked, and you will face civil penalties and, possibly, jail time.
Basic Auto Insurance
According to the NCDMV, the basic insurance you are required to have is:
- Bodily injury liability coverage of $30,000 per person up to $60,000 for two or more people
- Property damage of $25,000
- Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage of $30,000 per person up to $60,000 for two or more people
- Uninsured motorist property damage of $25,000
Required Insurance Documents
You must carry proof of insurance with you. You can carry a paper insurance card or an electronic one.
Your Insurance Card
Your insurance card has to be provided in paper or digital form upon request. You may need to present the card:
- If a police officer stops you during a spot check
- If you are stopped for a traffic violation
- When you’re involved in a crash
- Before a vehicle inspection
You can be fined for failing to present a card when asked. If you can’t provide proof of insurance, you also could be charged with failure to have insurance. Operating a motor vehicle without at least basic insurance in North Carolina is considered a Class 1 misdemeanor. If you’re found guilty of operating a vehicle without insurance, you can lose your registration and plates and face fines or jail time.
If you can’t find an insurer willing to insure you, you can contact the NC Reinsurance Facility, which provides auto insurance for high-risk drivers.
Insurance fraud occurs when an insurance company, agent, adjuster, or consumer provides false information to an insurer for their own financial gain. North Carolina takes insurance fraud seriously and considers it a felony. It is punishable by fines, jail time, and loss of driver’s license.
How to Report Fraud to the State
If you suspect someone you know is committing fraud, you can report it to the state Department of Insurance. You can report online, by email to firstname.lastname@example.org, by calling 919-807-6840 or Toll-Free 888-680-7684, or by fax at 919-715-1156. You may also report fraud by mail at:
NC Department of Insurance
1201 Mail Service Center
Raleigh, NC 27699-1201
Fraud makes insurance rates higher for everyone in New Jersey, which is why it’s important to report it. Those tips are confidential and kept anonymous.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?