How Traffic Tickets Could Suspend Driving Privileges
If you are convicted of certain traffic violations in North Carolina, you will incur points on your driver’s license. These points work like demerits, and if you receive too many points, you may temporarily use your privilege to drive.
Some offenses, such as driving more than 15 miles over the speed limit if you are driving more than 55 mph, will cause your driving privileges to be revoked for 30 days, even if you have no other violations. Offenses where you cause a death while driving or fail to give aid when involved in an accident will cause your license to be suspended for one year. Other offenses, such as intentionally racing your vehicle, warrant suspension for three years. If you cause a death while driving under the influence of a controlling substance, you will lose the right to drive permanently in North Carolina.
How Drivers Get Points Against Them
Littering will get you one point, and offenses such as failing to restrain a child in your vehicle properly will net two points. A variety of minor offenses will net you three points. These include running a stop sign or red light, failure to yield, driving through a safety zone, and driving with no liability insurance. Four-point offenses include driving on the wrong side of the road, hit-and-run when there is only property damage, illegal passing, and following too closely. Five-point offenses include passing a stopped school bus, aggressive driving, and reckless driving.
How Long Do Points Remain on Your Record
Points remain on your record for three years. Remedial driving courses can remove points from your record.
What Happens When You Get Too Many Points
If you accumulate seven points, the court may require you to attend a driver improvement clinic. If you accumulate 12 or more points, your driver’s license may be suspended. Accumulating eight points within three years of reinstatement may result in a second suspension. The first suspension for accumulating too many points is for 60 days, the second is for six months, and the third is for 12 months. Once your driver’s license is reinstated, all previous points are wiped clean. The reinstatement fee is $65 unless the suspension was because of a DWI. In that case, the reinstatement fee is $130.
Where to Pay Your Traffic Fines
When you are ticketed for some minor offenses, you have the option to either plead guilty and pay the fine or contest it by requesting a hearing with your local municipal court. If you are not contesting, you can pay the fine online, at the courthouse in the municipality where you were charged, or by mail.
Some more serious offenses require that you appear in court. If you do not pay the fine for your moving violation, you will lose your driving privileges until you do.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?