North Dakota requires drivers to carry auto insurance whenever they are on the road. Drivers not only have to have an active policy, but they must also have proof of coverage in the vehicle. This proof is usually in the form of an insurance card. Not being insured in North Dakota is a serious crime, as is insurance fraud.
North Dakota Automotive Insurance Requirements
North Dakota has more extensive auto insurance requirements than the majority of other states. This means that a basic car insurance policy in North Dakota will be more expensive than the minimum required policy in another state, but it will also provide more thorough coverage. The minimum legal auto insurance coverage in North Dakota includes:
- Personal injury liability: $25,000 per person; $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability: A minimum of $25,000 per accident
- Uninsured motorist: $25,000 per person; $50,000 per accident
- Underinsured motorist: $25,000 per person; $50,000 per accident
- Personal injury protection: $30,000 per person
Required Insurance Documentation
The auto insurance laws of North Dakota require that drivers carry documentation of their active insurance policy at all times when they are on the road. In practice, this documentation is usually an insurance card. It is a good idea to put this card in your vehicle’s glove compartment to ensure that it is always in the vehicle. You will be required to show this documentation to any law enforcement officer that requests it. You will also need your insurance card if you get in an accident.
Your North Dakota Insurance Card
The information printed on your North Dakota insurance card is similar to that printed on insurance cards for drivers in other states. The information on the insurance card will include:
- The name of your insurance company
- Your full legal name
- Your insurance company’s address
- The details of your policy
- Information about your vehicle, including its model year, make, model, and VIN
- Instructions about what you should do if you get in an accident
- The date the policy began and the date it will end
Automotive Insurance Fraud in North Dakota
Automotive insurance fraud is taken seriously in North Dakota, and the state government will administer strict penalties to people who are convicted of insurance fraud. Some states have a separate classification for auto insurance fraud, but North Dakota treats it as a type of insurance fraud. The laws in North Dakota specify that someone convicted of insurance fraud may have to pay back the money they fraudulently gained as well as serve jail time or probation.
Reporting North Dakota Automotive Insurance Fraud
If you are aware of automotive insurance fraud in North Dakota, you can report it online. The Department has its own Insurance Fraud Unit to ensure that it can respond effectively to this sort of crime. You can also report insurance fraud by submitting this form.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?