Oklahoma requires all vehicles driven on public roads to have at least a minimal amount of liability insurance coverage in effect. Anyone found driving without insurance coverage or with less than the state-accepted minimums could have his or her vehicle impounded and have to pay a fine. Continual driving uninsured vehicles could trigger a temporary loss of driving privileges. The following information helps Oklahoma motorists and others to better understand the state’s mandated auto insurance coverages and how the state’s insurance regulations work.
Table of Contents
Basic Auto Insurance
Like most states, Oklahoma is an at-fault state in which drivers who cause accidents are liable for the cost of damages and to treat personal injuries. So that accident victims have a measure of financial protection and to help protect the finances of drivers and car owners, the Oklahoma Insurance Department (OID) requires all vehicles to carry at least minimum amounts of liability coverage.
The state-mandated liability insurance minimums in Oklahoma are:
- Up to $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person.
- Up to $50,000 in combined bodily injury coverage per accident.
- Up to $25,000 in liability coverage for property damage.
Liability insurance provides coverage up to policy limits for the costs of damages and injuries suffered by others. Liability insurance does not cover the costs of damages to the insured vehicle or its driver. Collision and comprehensive liability that includes coverage for medical costs would provide that kind of insurance protection.
Required Insurance Documents
All motorists must carry proof of insurance while driving the insured vehicle. The proof of insurance is needed whenever a police officer asks for a copy and is helpful following an accident. The proof of insurance will list the insured vehicle’s VIN number, make, model and build year. It also will list the name and address of the owner, the liability insurance amounts in force and the dates that the policy is in effect.
Your Insurance Card
Virtually all auto insurers provide a wallet-sized card that lists all of the pertinent insurance information on the respective vehicle. The card makes it much easier for the owners of respective vehicles to carry proof of insurance in their wallets so that they always have valid proof of insurance when needed. The insurance card is especially helpful during traffic stops and to exchange information following an accident.
Insurance fraud is a crime and occurs whenever someone lies about the events leading up to an insured event or exaggerates the cost of damages or injuries. Insurance fraud costs U.S. consumers more than $800 annually in additional insurance premiums.
How to Report Fraud to the State
The OID’s Anti-Fraud Unit investigates reports of insurance fraud within Oklahoma. The Oklahoma Legislature in 2005 gave the Anti-Fraud Unit full law-enforcement powers to investigate crimes and make arrests leading to criminal prosecutions. The unit has offices in Oklahoma City and Tulsa but serves every county in the state. Anyone wanting to report insurance fraud can contact the Anti-Fraud unit online, by phone, by mail or by email.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?