Does Oregon Use a Points System?
As you are probably aware, many states use a points system in which they penalize you for having points on your driver’s license. You get these points via various traffic violations. However, in the state of Oregon, they do not use a points system. However, the Oregon DMV still keeps close track of how many tickets you get and how often you get tickets in the first place.
Oregon Traffic Violations
In the event that you are responsible for any accidents or you get multiple traffic tickets, you will have to pay a fine. Additionally, you may have your driver’s license restricted as a result, as well. These restrictions only apply if you are 18 years or older, as the restrictions are different for those drivers under the age of 18. The Oregon DMV will restrict your driving privileges for 30 days if you are 18 years old or older and any of the following are on your driving record:
- Three convictions
- Three accidents
- A combination of convictions and accidents totaling three accidents within the span of 18 months
Paying for Traffic Tickets in Oregon
It is important that you check your traffic ticket or reach out to the Oregon district court for more information about your ticket fees and acceptable payment methods. You must appear in court for certain types of tickets, so make sure to check your traffic ticket carefully. You can typically pay for your traffic tickets online, by mail, by phone, or in person.
You should pay your traffic ticket fees before the deadline that is listed on the traffic ticket. You can mail a check to pay for your traffic ticket fees to the appropriate circuit court if you wish to do so. You can also pay for your traffic ticket in person by cash, check, or credit card.
Driver Improvement Program
License Suspension in Oregon
The standards for suspending a driver’s license in Oregon are different for drivers under the age of 18 and for those 18 years old and older. If you get a third conviction or accident while you are under the age of 18, the Oregon DMV will suspend your license for six months. This applies even if you turn 18 during the suspension period. In the event that you are over the age of 18, the Oregon DMV will suspend your license for 30 days if you have four convictions, four accidents, or a combination that totals four in a 24-month period. For every violation or preventable accident after four within two years, the Oregon DMV will suspend your license or your right to apply for a license for 30 days.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?