How to get a Pennsylvania Record
The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation Driver and Vehicle Services keeps detailed driving records going back 10 years on every licensed driver in the Keystone State. The records provide information on your moving violations and resulting points, accidents, and suspensions, and restorations. Licensed drivers in Pennsylvania can obtain copies of their driving history by filling out the appropriate form, providing some documentation, and paying a nominal fee.
Employers, insurance companies or agents, law enforcement, courts, and attorneys representing you also can obtain copies of your driving record. It is important to ensure the information is accurate so that you do not have to overpay for auto insurance, and anyone that you authorize to do a background check will not find misleading or incorrect information in your report.
Pennsylvania Driving Record Application
You or other authorized parties can order copies of your driver record by completing Form DL-503. The form offers options for basic history, full history, three years, 10 years, or certified. The cost varies from $5 to $36, depending upon what option you choose. Drivers may obtain noncertified copies of their own records online for $11.
Items Needed to Get Your Report
To receive a copy of your own report online, you’ll need to know your driver’s license number, date of birth, and social security number and have a debit or credit card to pay the $11. If you are using the printed form, you’ll need your driver’s number and a check or money order for the correct amount. If a third party is requesting your report, they’ll need the Form DL-503, your driver’s information, and need to have their signature notarized. Unless they are a credit organization with a legitimate reason for needing your record, an insurer, or have a subpoena, they’ll also need your signature.
Three Ways to Order Your Copy
If your weekdays are generally busy and you do not want to make the trip to the PennDOT Driver and Vehicle Services, you do not have to in order to get a copy of your driving record. You can order a driver-history report in three ways. Those are:
- Online, by obtaining a user ID and submitting the completed application. Certified copies cannot be obtained online.
- Via the U.S. Postal Service, by including the original application and a check or money order made out to PennDOT.
- In-person at an agency, by submitting the completed application, showing your driver’s license, and paying the fee with either a check or money order.
Third-parties may only obtain copies by mail or in person.
Costs and How to Pay
You must pay a fee to obtain a copy of your driver’s history. The fee is $11 for a full report either online, in-person, or by mail. The fee is also $11 for a 3-year driving record or 10-year driving record. A certified record is $36. Online orders require a debit or credit card. Mail and in-person orders require a check or money order.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?