Rhode Island requires drivers to carry auto insurance. The state has legal auto insurance minimums that are in line with the requirements of many other states. The required car insurance documents in Rhode Island (including your car insurance card) are also similar to the required documentation in many other states. It is important to follow these requirements honestly, as Rhode Island takes car insurance fraud very seriously and even makes it easy for citizens to report it. Read on to learn more about car insurance requirements in Rhode Island.
Minimum Auto Insurance Requirements for Rhode Island
Rhode Island requires drivers to carry two types of insurance: personal injury liability insurance and property damage liability insurance. The coverage requirements for these types of insurance are as follows:
- Property damage liability: $25,000
- Personal Injury liability: $25,000 for one person, $50,000 for all occupants combined
Rhode Island, unlike some other states, does not require uninsured motorist coverage. However, it is a good idea to get this sort of coverage. Also, drivers may want to get collision or comprehensive coverage to ensure that repair costs are covered in the event of an accident. While Rhode Island does not require collision or comprehensive coverage either, auto financing and leasing companies usually do.:
Required Auto Insurance Documentation
In Rhode Island, as in every other state in the country, drivers are required to show proof of auto insurance when asked by a law enforcement officer. Most drivers keep a hard copy of their insurance card in their vehicle. However, it is permissible to keep a digital copy of your insurance card on your phone instead of keeping a hard copy in your vehicle. The important thing is that you can show valid proof of insurance if asked by a law enforcement officer.
Your Rhode Island Car Insurance Card
Whether your Rhode Island insurance card is digital or paper, it will contain the same information. This information includes:
- Your full legal name
- Your address
- The start date of the policy
- The end date of the policy
- The coverage details
- Your vehicle’s year, make, and model
- The name of your insurance company
- Your insurance company’s contact info
- Instructions about what to do if you get in an accident
Rhode Island Car Insurance Fraud
Car insurance fraud in Rhode Island is a serious crime. It can be a misdemeanor or a felony, depending on the amount fraudulently obtained. It is likely that someone who provided false information on a Rhode Island car insurance application would be committing misdemeanor insurance fraud. This can result in a fine of thousands of dollars and even several months in jail.
Reporting Rhode Island Car Insurance Fraud
Rhode Island makes it easy for citizens to report car insurance fraud and other types of insurance fraud. To report fraud, all citizens have to do is call the Rhode Island State Police at (401) 444-1000.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?