Minimum Acceptable Auto Insurance in South Dakota
Living in South Dakota, you need to be aware that there are specific requirements for insurance coverage.
By law, you must have these minimum coverage amounts:
- $25,000 for bodily injury or death, per person per crash
- $50,000 for bodily injury or death for multiple injured parties per crash
- $25,000 for property damage.
South Dakota also requires you to maintain coverage that helps you pay for injuries that you suffer as a result of getting into a crash with an uninsured driver or a driver who doesn’t have the coverage to cover all the costs associated with a claim.
You can choose to purchase additional kinds of coverage to help protect yourself in the case of a collision. For example, you may want to purchase:
- Auto loan/lease coverage
- Towing and labor coverage
- Collision coverage
- Comprehensive coverage
- Medical payment coverage
- Rental reimbursement
- Customized equipment and parts coverage
Required Insurance Documents
Once you get insurance, you will need to be able to provide evidence of insurance upon request.
Insurance Cards in South Dakota
You must carry your insurance card with you no matter where you are in South Dakota. If a police officer asks you for your insurance, then you need to be able to furnish it upon demand. It’s a good idea to carry your physical card with you, but you can also carry a digital card or photograph of your insurance card.
Your insurance document should include your policy number, effective coverage date, the expiration date and the insurance company’s name.
Driving Without Insurance
If you decide to drive without insurance, you could end up facing serious penalties. It is illegal to drive without insurance. If you are caught, you will be:
- Fined $100
- Potentially placed in jail for 30 days
- Lose your license for up to a year
- Be required to provide SR-22 proof of insurance for the next three years
Reporting Insurance Fraud in South Dakota
If you know that someone does not have insurance or are aware that an insurance fraud case is occurring, it is important to report it. Insurance fraud costs people in South Dakota millions annually by increasing insurance rates. If you believe that you are a victim of fraud or that fraud is taking place, you can reach out to the Insurance Fraud Prevention Unit of the Division of Criminal Investigation. Call at 605-773-3331 or send an email to firstname.lastname@example.org to make your report as soon as possible.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?