Traffic Violations in South Dakota
Traffic tickets can quickly add up and cost you a small fortune in South Dakota. Depending on the violation, you could be fined and need to pay or may need to attend a hearing in court. The South Dakota Department of Public Safety uses a points-based system to track drivers’ violations. You will receive points on your license only if you are convicted of a traffic offense, so if you want to, you can contest it in court.
South Dakota Points System
The South Dakota points system is simple to understand. If you get more than 15 points within 12 months or 22 points within 24 months, then you will lose your license. Your license will be suspended for at least 60 days at that point, but it may be suspended for longer depending on the reason for the points.
Second offenses lead to six-month suspensions, while third and subsequent offenses will lead to you losing your license for at least a year.
If you are convicted of a traffic violation while you’re driving on a restricted driver’s permit, you’ll automatically lose your license for 30 days.
One special thing about South Dakota is that you won’t receive points for speeding, so you don’t have to worry about speeding tickets resulting in the loss of your license.
How Long Do Points Stay On Your Record?
In most cases, convictions will stay on your record for at least five years. Some will stay as long as 55 years, such as those for alcohol-related convictions.
License Suspension and Reinstatement in South Dakota
If you have lost your license and would like to get it reinstated, you will need to pay a reinstatement fee in order to cover the costs associated with the suspension. Additionally, you will need to pay an application fee if you need to apply for a license again. If your license has been totally revoked, you’ll need to take your driving, knowledge and vision test again before you will be able to get your license back.
If you have lost your license in the past, you will need to obtain an SR22 insurance form to prove that you have insurance before you’ll be able to get your license back. It’s a misdemeanor to be unable to maintain proof of insurance, and this can result in 30 days in jail and a $100 fine upon conviction.
You have a few options with traffic fines. The first is to pay the fine, which you can do by going to the Magistrate Court if the citation was a misdemeanor. You’ll go to the Circuit Court if the citation was a felony. You can also make a payment online in some cases. You will need to check your traffic ticket to find out the specific way to pay for the ticket you have received.
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?