Utah requires drivers to carry a minimum amount of car insurance. Drivers must also have proof of insurance at all times when they are driving. While it may be tempting to falsify information on a Utah car insurance application to get lower premiums, this is insurance fraud and it is a serious crime in Utah. Utah even makes it easy to report insurance fraud. Read on to learn more about car insurance in Utah.
Basic Car Insurance Requirements in Utah
Utah’s minimum car insurance requirements are a bit lower than in most other states. Drivers are required to carry liability coverage and personal injury protection coverage. The minimum legal amounts of these types of coverage are:
- Injury liability: $25,000 per person; $65,000 per accident
- Property damage liability: $15,000 per accident
- Personal injury protection: $3,000 per accident
Drivers can also purchase optional coverage. Optional coverage in Utah includes uninsured motorist coverage, collision coverage, and comprehensive coverage. While Utah law does not require drivers to carry collision or comprehensive coverage, most leasing and financing companies will require this type of coverage.
Required Car Insurance Documents
Utah law requires drivers to carry proof of insurance on them at all times. This is because law enforcement personnel have the right to request proof of insurance whenever they stop a driver. It is common for Utah drivers to leave a hard-copy insurance card in their vehicle. Most simply leave their card in their vehicle’s glove compartment. However, some drivers these days will keep digital copies of their insurance cards on their phones. This is legally acceptable.
Utah Car Insurance Cards
Insurance cards in Utah will include the same information as auto insurance cards in other states. This information includes:
- Types of coverage
- Amounts of coverage
- Policy effective date
- Policy end date
- Full legal name of the insured
- Insured’s date of birth
- Vehicle details (VIN, year, make, model, color, body type)
- Instructions for what to do if you are involved in an accident
- The name of the insurance company
- The address of the insurance company
Auto Insurance Fraud in Utah
Car insurance fraud is just one of many types of insurance fraud. Utah takes insurance fraud very seriously and prosecutes cases to the full extent of the law. Insurance fraud can be either a misdemeanor or a felony in Utah, depending on the size of the fraud. Lying on a car insurance application is a relatively small fraud that would likely be prosecuted as a misdemeanor. However, even misdemeanor insurance fraud in Utah can lead to a large fine and jail time.
Filing a Report of Utah Car Insurance Fraud
Utah makes it easy to report insurance fraud online. Insurance fraud can also be reported over the phone with a call to (801) 468-0233. The Utah insurance fraud website even allows reporters to upload evidence
We are sorry that this post was not useful for you!
Let us improve this post!
Tell us how we can improve this post?